Marc Almond and David Ball are set to release their first Soft Cell record in 25 years, Happiness Not Included, in February of 2022. Ahead of the release the long-running synth-pop duo have released the album’s first official single “Bruises On My Illusion”.

The song is classic Soft Cell dark cabaret. Driven by a sordid organ synth and pulsing drum beats, and Marc Almond crooning lyrics such as “when every day is Soviet gray”, the imagery spun the catchy melody paints a deliciously bleak portrait of the song’s protagonist.

As Marc Almond explains, “‘Bruises On My Illusions” is a mini film noir Soft Cell story about a disillusioned character with everything against him or her who still has hope for a better future, despite the odds. A darker ‘Bedsitter’. Dave’s ominous yet punchy defiant chords inspired the song.”

Dave Ball adds, “One of our darker cinematic pop moments with a classic Marc Almond lyric”.

Listen to “Bruises On My Illusion” below:

The new Soft Cell album Happiness Not Included, will be available on CD, Vinyl, and Deluxe Formats, and will feature a dozen brand new Marc Almond and Dave Ball songs. Previously, the band released a preview track (non-single) of the song “Heart Like Chernobyl” to celebrate the pre-order launch on August 13th.

Pre-Order Here


  1. Happy Happy Happy
  2. Polaroid
  3. Bruises On My Illusions
  4. Purple Zone
  5. Heart Like Chernobyl
  6. Light Sleepers
  7. *Happiness Not Included
  8. Nostalgia Machine
  9. Nighthawks
  10. I’m Not A Friend Of God
  11. Tranquiliser
  12. New Eden

Live Dates:

  • 11/10 Glasgow O2 Academy
  • 11/12 Manchester O2 Apollo
  • 11/13 Leeds O2 Academy
  • 11/15 London Hammersmith Apollo
  • 11/16 London Hammersmith Apollo

Please support! You can do so via: