For the first time in over a decade, Cocteau Twins chanteuse Elizabeth Fraser will release new music through independent record retailers on Record Store Day. This latest EP will be the first release by Fraser since 2009’s “Moses”, a song she’d written with Damon Reece and the late Jake-Drake Brockman.

Fraser has, nevertheless, not been idle in recent years. In 2018, she reemerged for a rare and intimate solo performance singing a selection of traditional folk songs to a small audience in London. In 2019 she toured with Massive Attack for the anniversary of their album, Mezzanine, for which she famously provided the vocals for the single “Teardrop.

In 2019, Fraser collaborated with British folk singer Sam Lee on a new, Bernard Butler-produced duet of the old folk song “The Moon Shines Bright”.

Fraser also recently collaborated on another duet with Jónsi from Sigur Rós for the song ‘Cannibal” and teamed up with Oneohtrix Point Never to rework “Tales From the Trash Stratum”.

Operating as Sun’s Signature, Fraser is once again joined by her partner, drummer Damon Reece (Echo & The Bunnymen, Massive Attack, Spiritualized). Their self-titled debut will appear on the 23rd of April 2022 as a black 12″ vinyl EP featuring five songs, released through Partisan Records.

 The first track on Sun’s Signature is called “Underwater”, although it is unknown if this is the same version of the song from Fraser’s 2000 release with the same title. The songs “Golden Air” and “Make Lovely the Day” made their debut when performed by Fraser at the 2012 Meltdown Festival.

Only 8000 copies will be available worldwide; of those, only 3700 will be available in the United States. Rough Trade’s website states that unsold Record Store Day titles will be available online via its webstore beginning at 8 a.m. Eastern on April 24.


Side A
1. “Underwater”
2. “Golden Air”

Side B
1. “Bluedusk”
2. “Apples”
3. “Make Lovely The Day”

Please support! You can do so via: