A Certain Ratio’s Sextet, reissued this week, is without question the band’s finest moment.  Above is the rare promo video ‘Knife Slits Water’ (apologies for the poor quality)

Factory Benelux presents a remastered CD edition of Sextet, the second studio album by Manchester Post-Punk funk group A Certain Ratio, originally released by Factory Records in January 1982.

Self-produced at Revolution Studio, Sextet saw the original Ratio quintet of Donald Johnson, Jeremy Kerr, Martin Moscrop, Simon Topping and Peter Terrell joined by co-vocalist Martha ‘Tili’ Tilson. Written and recorded following a transformative sojourn in New York in late 1980, the album reflects Latin, samba and even jazz influences (eg Skipscada; Day One), while still retaining Ratio’s signature brittle funk textures, heard in full effect on Lucinda, Gum and trancelike floor filler Knife Slits Water.

Newly remastered, the bonus tracks across the CD and vinyl formats include non-album single Waterline as well as pseudonymous dub plate Abracadubra (released as Sir Horatio), and the band’s three song John Peel session from June 1981.

The CD version also includes a further Peel session from November 1982, featuring two songs never before released on record: Piu Lento, and Who’s To Say. Also included are both extended 12″ mixes of Knife Slits Water, together with an early demo version of percussive marathon Si Firmir O Grido.


2xCD tracklist: (FBN 11 CD)

Disc 1:

1. Lucinda
2. Crystal
3. Gum
4. Knife Slits Water
5. Skipscada
6. Day One
7. Rub Down
8. Rialto
9. Below the Canal
10. Waterline
11. Funaezekea
12. Abracadubra
13. Sommadub

Disc 2:

1. Skipscada (Peel 1981
2. Day One (Peel 1981)
3. Knife Slits Water (Peel 1981)
4. Who’s To Say? (Peel 1982)
5. Piu Lento (Peel 1982)
6. Touch (Peel 1982)
7. Si Fermir O Grido (demo)
8. Knife Slits Water (12″ version)
9. Kether Hot Knives (12 version)


Double vinyl tracklist (FBN 11):

A1. Lucinda
A2. Crystal
A3. Gum
A4. Knife Slits Water
B1. Skipscada
B2. Day One
B3. Rub Down
B4. Rialto
B5. Below the Canal
C1. Waterline
C2. Funaezekea
C3. Sommadub
D1. Skipscada (Peel)
D2. Day One (Peel)
D3. Knife Slits Water (Peel)
D4. Abracadubra

Design by Ben Kelly. Cover painting by Denis King. Available on 2xCD digipack and double gatefold vinyl. FBN 11 vinyl package pricing: £18.00 including UK postage. Europe = £25.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc £27.00.

A Certain Ratio | Sextet

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: