The Virgin Prunes formed in Dublin, emerging from the closely knit ‘Lypton Village’ scene, from which U2 also emerged. The subversive beauty of Virgin Prunes and their extraordinary creative activity ran just one decade: from 1977 to 1986, but their impact on the Irish music scene of the time is undeniable. The scene included Gavin Friday and fellow Virgin Prunes Guggi, Dave-id Busaras Scott (vocals), Strongman (bass), Dik Evans (guitar), and Mary D’Nellon (drums), all sharing a vehemently anti-patriarchal, anti-establishment spirit, with their different religious backgrounds strengthening their mutual interests.

Their debut studio album, … If I Die, I Die, was recorded at the Windmill Studios in Dublin in the summer of 1982. Featuring one of the band’s best-known songs, Baby Turns Blue, it was produced by Wire’s Colin Newman and continues earlier records’ examinations of purity and beauty. Rather than adopt an A/B format, the sides of the 1982 vinyl and album cover, designed by Steve Averill, were given brown and blue colours to signal earth and sky.

At long last, the 40th Anniversary Edition is remastered and will be reissued on vinyl for the first time since 1982. The album will also be available as a 2-CD media book edition with a rarities CD. Both editions come with brand new sleeve notes and a photo book, set for release on 11 November 2022 on Mute/BMG.

This 40th Anniversary edition features the original album, fully remastered, plus rarities and remixes; including unheard rough mixes of tracks such as “Ballad of the Man,” “Bau-Dachong,” and “Theme For Thought.” It also includes a remix of “Baby Turns Blue” by Colin Newman, originally available as a promo only, as well as early versions of “The King of Junk,” and “Pagan Lovesong.”

You can pre-order the 40th-anniversary album here.


CD1 & LP
1. Ulakanakulot (2022 Remaster)
2. Decline and Fall (2022 Remaster)
3. Sweethome Under White Clouds (2022 Remaster)
4. Bau-Dachöng (2022 Remaster)
5. Baby Turns Blue (2022 Remaster)
6. Ballad of the Man (2022 Remaster)
7. Walls of Jericho (2022 Remaster)
8. Caucasian Walk (2022 Remaster)
9. Theme for Thought (2022 Remaster)

1. Baby Turns Blue (Colin Newman Remix 2004) (2022 Remaster)^
2. Chance of a Lifetime (UK 12″) (2022 Remaster)
3. Yeo (UK 12″) (2022 Remaster)
4. The Faculties of a Broken Heart (What Should We Do If Baby Turns Blue) (UK 12″) (2022 Remaster)
5. King of Junk (Instrumental) (Rough Mix) (2022 Remaster)^
6. Ballad of the Man (Rough Mix) (2022 Remaster)^
7. Fado (Rough Mix) (2022 Remaster)^
8. Bau-Dachong (Rough Mix) (2022 Remaster)^
9. Theme For Thought (Rough Mix) (2022 Remaster)^
10. Pagan Lovesong (Demo) (2022 Remaster)^
11. Pagan Lovesong (2022 Remaster)
12. Dave-Id Is Dead (2022 Remaster)
13. Pagan Lovesong (Vibeakimbo) (2022 Remaster)
^ previously unreleased

Follow Virgin Prunes:

Please support! You can do so via: