Dark post-punk act Deep Tissue have unleashed their video for “Mood Swing”, a ferociously biting wall of melodic guitars and scathingly passionate vocals that kicks against the claustrophobic catalepsy many struggle to resist during these somewhat seemingly hopeless days.

“Mood Swing” is a song featured on the band’s forthcoming full-length album Patience or Fear, which is set for release on July 13th through Play Alone records.

Deep Tissue was formed in Philadelphia in the summer of 2017 by Shaun Nelson (guitar), Arthur Wurt (bass), and Adam Moffitt (drums,). After recording a handful of instrumental demos and searching for a singer, the group was introduced to Lauren Leilani Iona in the summer of 2018.

Lauren recorded vocals in the studio for what is known as their first self-titled EP. This release included 4 songs and was issued via Disinfect records, a punk label from Australia. Geoff Smith would later join the group on second guitar in the winter of 2019, rounding out the current lineup.

After briefly touring that spring, the group spent the rest of 2019 writing and recording their first LP, “Patience or Fear”.

“Mood Swing is about desperately wanting your life to change for the better but being so down, and so clouded by negative thoughts, that you canʼt bring yourself to believe itʼll ever really change.

The title of the record, Patience Or Fear, comes from a line in Mood Swing. Itʼs Lauren questioning that old saying “good things come to those who wait,” wondering if itʼs more like Iʼm looking for an excuse to give in to apathy and not take any action. Fear is the root of that.”

Watch the video for “Mood Swing”, created by Matt Lovannone, below:

Deep Tissue intends to eventually tour in support of their debut record, but until then the band has since been working on new demos with the plan of already recording their next LP.

Patience or Fear is out July 13th on Play Alone Records

Order Here 

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: