It’s been five years since the release of their critically acclaimed fourth studio album, and now shoegaze heroes Slowdive are teasing the release of another new LP.

The news is a long time coming for the band, who over the past two years have shared the slow process of developing the record via social media with photos of Nick Chaplin and Neil Halstead, as well as the drum kit captioned with the hashtag “#slowdivelp5”.

In Slowdive’s latest cryptic tweet, Halstead and Rachel Goswell posted a selfie captioned “Studio vibes.” Goswell then reposted it on her personal Twitter with the caption “LP5.”

Slowdive formed in 1989, releasing three studio albums, and several EPs, before breaking up in 1995 and forming the band Mojave 3.

After their reunion in 2014, Slowdive released their first new album in 22 years with their 2017 self-titled LP that featured the now fan-beloved single “Sugar for the Pill”.

Following the release of the album, and several tours, the band has had other projects keeping them busy over the past five years. In 2021, it was revealed that members of Slowdive had formed Beachy Head, a new supergroup, comprised of Rachel Goswell and Christian Savill, Matt Duckworth (Flaming Lips), Ryan Graveface (Casket Girls, Dreamend), and Steve Clarke (The Soft Cavalry).

Goswell also recently appeared on a Covid relief album of The Mission’s classic Tower Of Strength with Martin Gore, Lol Tolhurst, Gary Unman, and Wayne Hussey.

Although it’s been wonderful to see them expand their horizons in various projects, the fifth album from Slowdive is much anticipated and certainly worth the wait.

Meanwhile, Slowdive is slated to perform at several European festivals this summer, including Primavera Sound in Barcelona and Portugal

Please support! You can do so via: