March of 2020 sees the king of controversy Morrissey—whose political views have seen him embroiled in a feud with the UK newspaper The Guardian—is reportedly gearing up to issue his 13th solo album titled I Am Not A Dog On A Chain.

The news comes via officially sanctioned fansite Morrissey Central, which states that this will be his last release via BMG.

The record was recorded in Saint-Remy, France, with long-time collaborator Joe Chiccarelli producing the album.

Oddly, the Mancunian crooner could be alluding to Dum Dum Girls as he describes the album as:

“the very best of me … too good to be true … too true to be considered good …”

BMG has not officially confirmed Morrissey’s new album at this time, however, Morrissey Central states that the first single is “Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?”, which features vocals by Thelma Houston. The B-side is “Rainbow Valley”, a cover of the UK hit by The Love Affair.

Check out the tracklisting in full below.

  • Jim Jim Falls
  • Love Is On Its Way Out
  • Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?
  • I Am Not A Dog On A Chain
  • What Kind Of People Live In These Houses?
  • Knockabout World
  • Darling, I Hug A Pillow
  • Once I Saw The River Clean
  • The Truth About Ruth
  • The Secret Of Music
  • My Hurling Days Are Done

The article concludes by stating that BMG will re-issue and re-master several Morrissey albums in 2020, with updated artwork and sleeve notes. These albums are: Southpaw Grammar, Maladjusted, You Are The Quarry, Ringleader Of The Tormentors, Years Of Refusal, Live At The Hollywood Bowl.

Please support! You can do so via: