Third time’s a charm: Portuguese/French-Canadian outfit Morte Psíquica releases album number three: Camera Obscura. Consisting of seven goth rock and post-punk songs, the album was recorded throughout 2020 and 2021 in Montreal, Canada.

The band continued their sonic explorations with this new endeavour, sculpting sound from sharp interlaced guitars, keyboard layers, robust vocals, idiosyncratic drumbeats and anxious basslines.

The album is described by the band as a “grey soundscape woven from the mind’s eye, inlaid with singular songwriting and a passion for the baroque.” The songs, all sung in Portuguese, weave together the melodramatic, the psychedelic, and the romantic with the chill of satisfying cold wave. We hear influences from Echo and the Bunnymen, Clan of Xymox, and solo Peter Murphy in the sound.

Listen below:

Morte Psíquica’s history dates back to 1993, when three Portuguese musicians entered the arena of post-punk and started crafting their own path. Originally a trio, the project developed into a solo venture for Sergio Pereira, who relocated to Montreal in 2018. Morte has shared the stage with Pink Turns Blue, Xeno & Oaklander, and Ritual Veil.

Camera Obscura is out now.

Order Here

Please support! You can do so via: