Listen to Australian Post-Punk act City Rose’s swan song debut EP

Following the release of there 1st single “Sextons”, Australian post-punk act City Rose have sonically invoked a remarkable intensity with the whole of their tempestuous debut EP—brimming with booming bass, crashing drums, guitars clanging with ferocious intensity—all overlaid with languid and poetically brooding vocals.

City Rose was formed in mid-2017 by Pat McCarthy (Bass) and Andrew Exten (Vocals), two Sydney with thy-siders whose aim was to create an expressive ensemble sharing similar creative, musical, literary and conceptual interests; and ultimately fill what they viewed as a void in the Sydney music scene. A view shared by Lucy Howroyd (Drums) and Hunter Auzins (Guitar) who quickly joined the band, consolidating its core.

After sharing bills with many of Australia’s premier underground acts, in early 2019 City Rose went on to support IDLES on their first Australian sold-out tour, which was followed by some significant showcases at Australia’s music festival BIGSOUND in Brisbane.

Sady, as the saying goes, “it’s better to burn out than to fade away”, and this remarkable record is the Sydney Group’s first and last after their powerful live performances burned bright over the past three years, giving way to the band dissolving after a gig Melbourne’s sold-out Weird Place Festival at The Tote on October 19th 2019.

Luckily, before their demise, the band went on to record their self-titled debut with Tim Powles of The Church as producer and engineer, as his home studio.

The resulting four songs are raw and transcendent with a wide dynamic range and frenetic energy honed to a razor’s edge.

Listen to City Roses’ debut EP below:

Order Here

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

13 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

17 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

21 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button