Berlin-based Dance Rock Trio Mirrors For Princes Debut Video for Biting New Single “Mistakes Were Made”

It’s time we put an end
To your unbecoming ways

Language is more slippery than a wet bar of soap. Sure, it’s great for shooting the breeze or penning love notes, but it’s just as handy for the old razzle-dazzle of political spin and sly double-talk. It’s a crafty beast, which can turn a plain old chin wag into a maze of smoke and mirrors.

…Speaking of mirrors, let’s talk about Mirrors For Princes, the Berlin-based electronic rock troupe that’s dancing out of Mercury retrograde’s shadow with their cheeky new single, Mistakes Were Made. The track is a sneak peek from their debut album, What We Do With What Others Have Done To Us, hitting the shelves and streaming waves on June 14th.

This bouncy dance-punk anthem tosses together a salad of pop and underground vibes, mixing a pinch of nostalgia with a dash of futurism, all while serving up a vinaigrette of irony and sincerity. Mirrors For Princes channels the spirit of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Siouxsie Sioux, with a nod to The Breeders and a wink at Garbage, proving once again that the lines we draw in music—and in language—are meant to be blurred, bent, and danced all over.

“On the [track]. we were toying with an idea of how language can oftentimes be used to obfuscate and evade,” says vocalist Sophie Soraya. “In that sense, there’s a hint of social commentary in there, but mostly it was written in a kind of ironic antagonistic manner and is our most playful and unserious song to date.”

For the video clip, Mirrors For Princes turns the dark, twisty underbelly of Berlin into a backdrop for a high-stakes game of cat and mouse. The band’s magnetic frontwoman is on a mad dash, chasing down her look-alike—played by director Maria Roi—through labyrinthine underpasses and shadow-laden alleyways that only Berlin can offer after dark.

This video spins a surreal tale of duality and confrontation. It’s a riveting dance of doubles that blurs the lines between reality and reflection, leaving viewers questioning who’s who. A visual treat packed with intrigue, the video is as much a nod to Berlin’s mysterious nocturnal charm as it is to the artistic genius of its creator.

Watch the video for “Mistakes Were Made” below:

“Freedom is what we do with what is done to us. We are our choices.”

Those words from Jean-Paul Sartre aren’t just for your next existential crisis—they’re also the spark behind Mirrors For Princess’s new album title. It’s a deep dive into the rollercoaster ride of early adulthood, complete with all its ups, downs, and absurd twists. The album throws a glaring spotlight on the oddities of modern living with growing pains. It’s as if Sartre himself sat in on the brainstorming sessions.

Sophie Soraya belts out the vocals with a power that can rattle your bones, while Hermie Gritz lays down the bass and synth lines that could soundtrack your next life crisis. Lonny Flowers is on guitar duties, ensuring each track shreds both literally and figuratively.

Recorded in the UK with the legendary Barny Barnicott—whose mixing board has seen action with the likes of Arctic Monkeys and Kasabian—this album promises to be both a balm for the soul and a jolt to the system.

“The creation of the album caught all three of us exorcising our inner demons in the times when it seemed like the world was falling to pieces,” says Soraya. “Just as it brought us together as best friends and collaborators, we put it out there for people who can relate to the struggle. We like to assume an ironic distance or be tongue-in-cheek to tackle these issues at times, but our message is never cynical, it’s the one of hope and perseverance.”

What We Do With What Others Have Done To Us is out on  June 14, 2024.

Pre-order here

This spring, the band will embark on their first European tour, showcasing tracks from their forthcoming album. The tour includes performances in Germany, Finland, and Tallinn Music Week in Estonia.

Follow Mirrors For Princes:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

12 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

17 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

20 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button