Classic Bands

Pixies “Bossanova” Reissued for 30th Anniversary on Red Vinyl

The Pixies have reissued their third album Bossanova on a special edition red vinyl through 4AD this summer to mark the record”s 30th anniversary. The re-release also includes the original 16-page booklet that was previously only included with the original U.K. vinyl release.

The limited-edition vinyl pressing of Bossanova is out now less a week from the 14-song album’s original release date 30 years ago on August 13th, 1990.

Here is 4AD’s official product description:

The band continued to work with Gil Norton after collaborating to such success on their platinum-selling second album Doolittle; this time choosing to record in Los Angeles over their native Boston (the track ‘Blown Away’, however, was recorded at the Hansa Tonstudio in Berlin during a European tour in 1989). Their third album in as many years, 1990 was a particularly fertile time for the band with Kim Deal also having success with The Breeders, who released their debut album Pod just a few months prior.

Featuring the singles ‘Allison’ (a tribute to jazz and blues pianist Mose Allison), ‘Dig For Fire’ and ‘Velouria’, plus the first cover to feature on one of their albums ‘Cecilia Ann’ (originally by The Surftones), Bossanova showed a less primal side to the band, with surf and space rock rising to the fore. Lyrically, Black Francis is even more cryptic with a recurring sci-fi theme running throughout, which in turn influenced Vaughan Oliver’s classic planet design for the sleeve.

Additionally, to mark the reissue of Bossanova, the Pixies have released an alternate version of the video for “Velouria” music video. In this new version, the band do not leap forward in slow-motion, but rather instead, move their arms around in semi-choreographed fashion.

You can see both the new alternate version and the original video below


Bossanova tracklisting:

A1. “Cecilia Ann”
A2. “Rock Music”
A3. “Velouria”
A4. “Allison”
A5. “Is She Weird”
A6. “Ana”
A7. “All Over The World”

B1. “Dig For Fire”
B2. “Down To The Well”
B3. “The Happening”
B4. “Blown Away”
B5. “Hang Wire”
B6. “Stormy Weather”
B7. “Havalina”

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Bands

Italian Darkwave Artist Numa Echos Debuts Video for Desolate Single “Infected Circles”

The concept of "infected circles," similar to crop circles, symbolizes a poisoned and flattened existence from which one must escape…

12 hours ago
  • Bands

Divine Your Deception — Texas Dreampop Duo Raudiver Debut Chilling Synth Single “True Faith”

sparrows feed on your hardware seed the scarcity of a mindlike cage Living in Texas, Lauren and Charlie Eddy of…

1 day ago
  • Bands

Toronto Post-Punk Outfit Shallow Waves Share the Video for Their Biting New Single “No Devotion”

Today, there's a relentless pressure to conform politically, religiously, and culturally, stifling individuality, creativity, and critical thought. Politically, we are…

2 days ago
  • Bands

French Project The Memory Of Snow Debuts Moody Monochromic Video for “Bodies”

Suffering and coming Consuming and sleeping Embodiment Representation This is who we are But not quite Human beings are a…

2 days ago
  • Bands

R.E.M. Reunite For the First Time in 15 Years — Watch Surprise Performance of “Losing My Religion”

Like a comet, often observed as a once-in-a-lifetime event, R.E.M. returned to the stage last night (June 13) at the…

2 days ago
  • Bands

Italian Shoegazers Monoscopes Debut Psychedelic Video for “You’re Gonna Be Mine”

Think about the frustrations Of resisting temptation Full of anticipation But I know you’re gonna be mine Ah, the certainty…

3 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button