35 years ago today, Joy Division released its legendary debut album “Unknown Pleasures,” featuring “She’s Lost Control,” “New Dawn Fades,” “Shadowplay” and more classics from this watershed work of art.

“Unknown Pleasures” was recorded at Strawberry Studios inStockport in April 1979, with Martin Hannett as producer, and was released on 15 June 1979 by Factory Records

Stephen Morris chose the iconic image used on the cover, which is based on an image of radio waves from pulsar CP 1919, from The Cambridge Encyclopaedia of Astronomy. Graphic Designer Peter Saville reversed the image from black-on-white to white-on-black and printed it on textured card, and thus one of the most iconic record covers was born-one that would ultimately be symbolic of the post-punk movement as a whole.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “Disorder” 3:32
2. “Day of the Lords” 4:49
3. “Candidate” 3:05
4. “Insight” 4:29
5. New Dawn Fades 4:47
Side two
No. Title Length
6. She’s Lost Control 3:57
7. Shadowplay 3:55
8. “Wilderness” 2:38
9. “Interzone” 2:16
10. “I Remember Nothing” 5:53


What’s your favorite track on “Unknown Pleasures”?  Let us know here:




Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: