Famed Mancunian guitarist Johnny Marr has announced the details of Call The Comet, his upcoming third studio album under just his name.

Watch the new album’s trailer below, along with the  new single “The Tracers”.

Marr’s previous solo efforts have been The Messenger released in 2013 and Playland released in 2014—as well as a live album Adrenalin Baby in 2015.

After his departure from The Smiths in 1987, Marr worked with Bernard Sumner in the project Electronic, as well as collaborating with various other bands such as The The, Modest House, The Cribs, and super group 7 Worlds Collide.

In 2003 Marr finally took the lead, helming his first project Johnny Marr and the Healers, before going completely solo a decade later.

Call The Comet was recorded at Marr’s ‘Crazy Face’ studios in Manchester and set for release on June 15th.

“Call The Comet’ is my own magic realism,” says Marr of the album. “It’s set in the not-too-distant future and is mostly concerned with the idea of an alternative society. The characters in the songs are searching for a new idealism, although there are some personal songs in there too. It’s something that people like me can relate to.”


  1. “Rise”
  2. “The Tracers”
  3. “Hey Angel”
  4. “Hi Hello”
  5. “New Dominions”
  6. “Day In Day Out”
  7. “Walk Into The Sea”
  8.  “Bug”
  9. “Actor Attractor”
  10. “Spiral Cities”
  11. “My Eternal”
  12. “A Different Gun”

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: