California-based post-punk outfit Houses of Heaven have been high on our watchlist since releasing their debut EP in 2017, a tightly-knit, highly energetic slab of synth and guitar-driven fury that has been a mainstay in our rotation since its release. After a three year silence, the band has been hard at work, carving out a strong live presence, and chipping away at their first full-length, titled Silent Places, which was just announced yesterday via Felte. With that in mind, take a listen to lead single “Sleep,” the first taste of new Houses of Heaven music in three years.

For the uninitiated, Houses of Heaven is the latest and greatest project from multi-instrumentalist and singer Keven Tecon, who previously helmed Veil Veil Vanish and Vaniish (and who was previously a member of Wax Idols and The Soft Moon). Tecon is joined by Vaniiish bandmates Adam Beck (Red Voice Choir) and Nick Ott (The Holy Kiss), all Oakland, CA scene alumni. The trio are joined this time by producer Matia Simovich, a member of Inhalt and producer of nearly every classic synth record that’s come out in recent years.

“Sleep” begins with a buzzing analog synth line and driving industrial rhythms, a deep churn of tension that gives way into a low synth growl. Tecon’s vocals sound ethereal at first listen, floating through the din before taking on a more sinister tone that matches the rest of the track. Guitars weave in and out, fighting for space with the dense synth rhythms, perfectly executed chaos that has us on the edge of our seat for four minutes, but would also sound perfectly at home in any self-respecting dance club.

Keven Tecon has offered a few words on the track’s meaning:

“In a detached age of digitized human connection, “Sleep” explores the opposite extreme, of sacrificing individual identity and binding oneself to another.  Losing touch with where one ends and the other begins. We are led to believe that the self is only one half of a whole, waiting for another to make it complete. There is a sensuality to this lie, so we dive deeper into the illusion.”

Silent Places is due on May 1st via Felte, and will be available as a limited edition cloudy/clear vinyl pressing and a six-panel CD edition. Check below for the full album artwork, ordering information, and a handful of upcoming West Coast live dates:

Houses of Heaven- Silent Places
1. Sleep
2. Dissolve The Floor
3. All Possible Obstacles Are Present
4. A Place Between
5. Channeling
6. Time Apart
7. In Soft Confusion
8. Pathwork
9. Caresses

Pre-order via Bandcamp

Upcoming live dates:

4.07 San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s *
05.28 San Diego, CA @ TBA
05.29 Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon ~

* w/ Black Marble, Moaning
~ w/ Cold Beat, Fearing

Photo by Effixx

Please support! You can do so via: