Los Angeles’s Dreampop darlings, United Ghosts, are heading across the Atlantic for a slate of shows in Europe/UK this summer. The band will be continuing the promotion of their album Saturn Days, their critically acclaimed sophomore effort released by Cleopatra Records last year.

And now, ahead of their European tour, the band have shared a new video for the new single “Ever Closer”, created by UG vocalist/bassist Sha Sabi. The track represents the colder, harder and more propulsive side of the record—built around a stuttering bass line and pulsing analog synths offset by soaring guitar stabs and lyrics that touch the raw nerve of global paranoia without forgetting the love. Part of the video was shot on surveillance cameras,

Guitarist Axel Ray explains:

“I seem to remember when we wrote this one we listened to a lot of vintage 70s/80s synth stuff and post-punk and thought about surveillance culture a lot – how even our most private moments can end up on camera. It all seemed to go together both lyrically and sound-wise.

The lyrics like “We live under the satellites, Kissing under the camera eyes” pretty much say it all – It’s kind of a paranoid love story as seen by CCTV and Satellites. I love how Sha’s video captures this by using footage from a drone, plus security- and 360 cams. As a song it shifts a bit, too – we’re really looking forward to taking this one live.”

Watch the video for “Ever Closer”:

Catch Ray and Sabi along with their live entourage at select venues across the EU/UK starting June 14.

For a complete list of shows, see here

Saturn Days is available now:
Digital: https://orcd.co/saturndays
CD: https://cleorecs.com/store/shop/united-ghosts-saturn-days-cd/
Vinyl: https://cleorecs.com/store/shop/united-ghosts-saturn-days-lp/

Track List:

  1. Waves
  2. All You Sad Boys
  3. Melodista
  4. Ever Closer
  5. Crash
  6. Ride Baby Ride
  7. Can’t Feel The Rain
  8. Too Clean Too Slow
  9. Maybe You Feel
  10. Star Song

Watch the video for “All You Sad Boys”
Watch the video for “Waves”

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: