Miami dreampop outfit Donzii returns to the glittering dancefloor with a sultry new disco-infused track, “Disco Rosie”. Taking on the disco-funk vibes of late 70s NYC No Wave, channeling the likes of ZE Records chanteuses Cristina, Lizzy Mercier Descloux, Disco Rosie is a vibrant dive into elegant, sophisticated sleaze.

Now under the helm of Born Losers Records, Balfe’s ethereal, dazzling vocals bring to mind Altered Images’ Clare Grogan, but with “Disco Rosie” she also channels both Visage and the Aural Exciters. This is the kind of song you’d want to hear boogie-ing the night away at Studio 54, just as Halston and Liza Minnelli show up with a couple of glamourous hangers-on.

The DIY video captures that unhinged disco vibe in the after-hours, after the drinks are drained out of the glasses and the vibes are still high. They lead us to a jubilant outdoor dance party, taking the euphoric celebrations to- and through- the roof.

Watch the video for “Disco Rosie” below:

Named after an Italian speedboat company—corrupted with an extra i—Donzii formed in 2015 by vocalist Jenna Balfe and musician Dennis Fuller. The tumultuous journey leading up to the band’s first full-length release included numerous lineup changes, musical ruptures, a heady love story between Balfe and Fuller, and “principled denials of industry rot,” as they succinctly put it.

Donzii made their 2022 SXSW debut and licensed their single Sand for HBO’s The Pretty Little Liars: Original Sin. Previously, their single Luxury Condo Theme was featured in a Supreme skateboard campaign. During their Miami residency, Donzii supported New Order, Boy Harsher, Mr. Twin Sister, Eartheater, and Surfbort. 

Donzii – For The People is out Spring 2023 on Born Losers Records.

1. Disco Rose
2. Green Elevator
3. Sand
4. Luxury Condo Theme
5. Mines
6. Pepper
7. Burn
8. For The People

Follow Donzii:

Please support! You can do so via: