Following the release today of their debut cassette EP Horseplay, LA-based deathrock/synthpop outfit VR SEX have quickly followed up with the announcement of a full LP titled Human Traffic Jam, due out May 10th through Dais Records.

Self-described as “the cure to most societal ills”, VR Sex is fronted by Noel Skum a new guise of Andrew Clinco aka Deb Demure of Drab Majesty, the project was self-recorded with all instruments at home his home studio,

Rounding up the lineup is Z. Oro (Aaron Montaigne of Antioch Arrow/Heroin/DBC) on vocals and drums, and Mico Frost (Brian Tarney) on synths and electric bass.

Listen below to “Landmine”, featured on Horseplay.

The eight-song album Human Traffic Jam, was written and demoed by Skum in a flat in Athens, Greece during the winter of 2017. During a rigorous week-long session at Figure 8 studios with experimental and dimensional production extraordinaire Ben Greenberg (Uniform/The Men), Skum solely committed all the instrumentation present on Human Traffic Jam.

Listen to the punchy sonic whirlwind that is the album track “Surrender”:

Described as saccharine and sour “dour pop”, VR Sex’s debut is thematically a sci-fi exploration into themes or mass consumption and pro-creation, suggesting it may be in fact better if humans plug into the cyberspace “aleph”.

In the project’s manifesto, which speaks of “lyrical themes that probe the possibilities of loss of autonomy through social media, the decline of human interaction, and celebrity favoritism”, the doctrine is elaborated:

“Skum believes in the stabilization of society and preservation of our planet by reducing its amount of procreators.

Through PSRS or Procreation Simulation Reproduction Stimulation, humans can act on their hedonistic desires and not face the responsibilities and consequences that come with being an ill-prepared guardian. The future of our offspring will exist in virtual realms and population growth, in turn, will be stabilized.”

DAIS Records releases VR SEX’s debut album “Human Traffic Jam” on May 10th, 2019 on digital, vinyl LP (packaged in a thick matte stock jacket with a printed inner euro sleeve with lyrics and download card in various colored vinyl variants), as well as compact disc, housed in a matte digipack with lyric insert and features the bonus track “Corridor (Epilogue)”. Cover art by Brooklyn based artist Adam Helms.

Pre-order Here

Human Traffic Jam
Dais Records
May 10, 2019

  1. Surrender
  2. Downgrade
  3. Epiphany Gridlock
  4. Sacred Limousine
  5. Maiden China
  6. Psycho Cybernetiks
  7. Cheek Detritus
  8. Facts Without Faces
  9. Corridor (Epilogue)

Please support! You can do so via: