We are the heartless cold

We are the tale untold

We are the sightless sons of a world they sold

Brooklyn post-punk duo A Cloud of Ravens proudly presents their new single, “Nature of Artifice,” the second offering from their third LP Lost Hymns, to be released in early 2023 via Nexilis Records/Schubert Music Europe.

This track is a bitter observation of modern society’s blindness to moral injustice, as A Cloud of Ravens opens the heart of a world devastated by the pandemic and torn apart by moral tribalism. Environmental concerns, global warming, the homeless crisis, political landmines, war, and pestilence. It’s all too much for one to handle, so to escape, we seek out means of digital pacification, distractions, or the emptiness of pure denial.

“It’s easier to get lost in the minutia of our click-and-swipe modern world than watch its blessings crumble around us. To some extent, none of us are blameless,” says vocalist Matthew McIntosh.

Nature of Artifice, in effect, serves as an encomium to the feeling of Hope itself. The gorgeous, poetic lyrics examine the phenomenon of digital apathy with compassion, pangs of guilt, and resigned detachment. Sounding like White Lies, Killing Joke, and at times Future Islands, this social commentary hits us squarely in the soul.

The song is accompanied by a monochromatic DIY video, interspersing stock footage of 20th century war scenes with modern footage of the band. We see the same old cycles, same old stories, same karmic lessons to work through as a collective playing out before us…and we keep on blowing our chances as capitalism lulls us into the same old stupour.

Formed in 2018 in Brooklyn by Matthew McIntosh (guitar and vocals) and Beth Narducci (bass guitar), the duo began work on this new album in the spring of 2021. Jason Corbett(ACTORS) mastered the recording at Jacknife Sound studio in Vancouver.

Listen below:

 Nature of Artifice’ is also available on Apple MusicSpotifyAmazon and Bandcamp. The full ‘Lost Hymns‘ album will be released in April 2023. Fans can look forward to their North American tour dates this spring with Clan of Xymox and Curse Mackey.

In the meantime, check out the video for “The Blackest Mantra”:

TOUR DATES (with Clan of Xymox & Curse Mackey)

  • Wed, May 31 – San Antonio TX
  • Thu, June 1 – Houston TX
  • Fri, June 2 – Austin TX
  • Sat, June 3 – Dallas TX
  • Mon, June 5 – Albuquerque NM
  • Tue, June 6 – Denver CO
  • Wed, June 7 – Salt Lake City UT
  • Fri, June 9 – Seattle WA
  • Sat, June 10 – Vancouver BC
  • Sun, June 11 – Portland OR
  • Tue, June 13 – San Francisco CA
  • Wed, June 14 – Costa Mesa CA
  • Thu, June 15 – San Diego CA
  • Fri, June 16 – Los Angeles CA

Follow A Cloud of Ravens:

Artist photos by Kevin W Condon

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: