It’s that magical time of year once more when the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame waves its magic wand and blesses new inductees into their hallowed fold. The 2021 lineup for the esteemed tradition is a wildly eclectic mix of genres, talents, and personalities.

Artists are eligible for nomination in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twenty-five years after their first release. First-time nominees this year include The Go-Gos, Foo Fighters, Iron Maiden, Jay-Z, Carole King, Fela Kuti, and Dionne Warwick.

Joel Peresman, Rock Hall CEO, said in a Vulture interview that the timing change due to the pandemic was necessary to properly celebrate the inductees, and he’s “hopeful by next fall in some form that we’ll be able to get together again.”

Starting with the current 2021 class, the nominating and voting process will occur in February and May, respectively. The induction will be held in Cleveland sometime in the autumn, dates to be determined.

Depeche Mode, T. Rex, and Nine Inch Nails were inducted in 2020; the year before, Roxy Music and The Cure made it, where Robert Smith and Co were inducted by Trent Reznor.

The public will once again have the opportunity to participate in the induction selection process. Diehard fans may now cast their ballots now through 30 April. Members of the Rock Hall will tally the score through May.  And now…here are the chosen eighteen:

  • Kate Bush
  • Devo
  • New York Dolls
  • The Go-Go’s
  • Tina Turner
  • Iron Maiden
  • Chaka Khan
  • Carole King
  • Fela Kuti
  • LL Cool J
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Mary J Blige
  • Foo Fighters
  • Jay-Z

It’s the second go-around for Kate Bush and Devo in the nomination game, let’s make it count this time! Fingers crossed.

Please support! You can do so via: