[dropcap]Polka-Dot[/dropcap] Pop fans rejoice, Glasgow’s Night School Records and Brooklyn’s finest indie label Sacred Bones are releasing Cut With The Cake Knife, the spiritual followup to 1985’s self titled and only album from Glasgow-based duo Strawberry Switchblade. After probably founding the Gothic Lolita movement, Strawberry Switchblade’s Rose McDowall and Jill Bryson went their separate ways—with McDowall collaborating with groups like Death in June, Psychic TV, Coil, Felt, and Into a Circle, and also helming projects, such as Spell with Boyd Rice, and a solo project called Sorrow.


Today, via the FADER, Sacred Bones has premiered the title track “Cut With The Cake Knife”, a song originally intended to be used for Scottish band’s abandoned second album.

All of these songs have strong emotive memories for me,” McDowall explained to The FADER via email. “The lyrics are very personal, but I never feel the need to explain anything; I feel like the songs are there for people.”


Listen to the title track via the slideshow video of rare photos of McDowall above. Cut With The Cake Knife comes out September 18th.

Track listing:

1. Tibet
2. Sunboy
3. Wings Of Heaven
4. Sixty Cowboys
5. On The Sun
6. Cut With The Cake Knife
7. Crystal Nights
8. Soldier
9. So Vicious
10. Don’t Fear The Reaper (Bonus Track)
11. Crystal Days

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: