The Cure have been nominated for induction to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame again. The beloved post-punk band were eligible for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame since 2004, but were last nominated in 2011

The 15 nominees for induction in also include Devo, Kraftwerk, Roxy Music, Janet Jackson, Radiohead, Stevie Nicks, LL Cool J, Rage Against the Machine, MC5 and more.

To be eligible for induction into the Rock Hall, artists must have released their first album or single 25 years ago. Kraftwerk, for example has been eligible for induction since 1995. The pioneers of electronic music have now been nominated five times.

Devo has been eligible since 2003, but this year’s nomination if their first for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Nominees that were snubbed for 2018 included Kate Bush, Depeche Mode and Eurythmics, so it seems that the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is biased again post-punk and new-wave music..

Despite the ability to vote at the Rock and Roll Hall’s website, fan outcry has seemed to have made very little difference over the years.

Inductees will be announced in December.

The full list the 2019 nominees:

  • Def Leppard
  • Devo
  • Janet Jackson
  • John Prine
  • Kraftwerk
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Roxy Music
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Stevie Nicks
  • The Cure
  • The Zombies
  • Todd Rundgren

Please support! You can do so via: