Classic Bands

Soft Cell Wave Goodbye with a 30-Song Final Concert Last Night in London

Last night Marc Almond and Dave Ball said goodbye to Soft Cell with a sold out final concert in London. The gig billed as “Say Hello, Wave Goodbye.” was the legendary synth pop duo’s first in 15 years, with Almond and Ball reuniting to celebrate Soft Cell’s 40th Anniversary.

After a 30-song set list at the 02 Arena, opening with the pair’s 1981 debut track “Memorabilia”, Ball and Almond  gave a stylish adieu with the final five songs of the evening, which were non-stop barrage of  classics such as “Bedsitter,”  their covers of  “Tainted Love” and “Where Did Our Love Go,” “Sex Dwarf” and, naturally, “Say Hello, Wave Goodbye.”

“Thank you for supporting us. It’s not been an easy ride, but there have been moments of magic. In other words, it’s been a blast. Thank you.” -Marc Almond

Soft Cell,  formed in 1977 are best known for their 1981 debut LP Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret. Marc Almond and Ball would release two more LP’s under their original run, 1983’s The Art of Falling Apartand 1984’s This Last Night in Sodom, before calling it quits until a reunion 2001 which eventually led to the release of 2002’s Cruelty Without Beauty.

Almond and Ball would then call it quits again in 2003 before their reunion last night.


Setlist: Soft Cell, O2 Arena, London, UK, September 30, 2018

  1. “Memorabilia”
  2. “Monoculture”
  3. “Darker Times”
  4. “Together Alone”
  5. “Torch”
  6. “Forever the Same”
  7. “Baby Doll”
  8. “Insecure Me”
  9. “Where the Heart Is”
  10. “Numbers”
  11. “Barriers”
  12. “Loving You, Hating Me”
  13. “Last Chance”
  14. “Frustration”
  15. “Youth”
  16. “The Best Way to Kill”
  17. “Meet Murder My Angel”
  18. “Surrender to a Stranger”
  19. “Somebody, Somewhere, Sometime”
  20. “So” [Off stage]
  21. “Martin”
  22. “Heat”
  23. “The Art of Falling Apart”
  24. “Northern Lights”
  25. “Soul Inside”
  26. “What?”
  27. “Bedsitter”
  28. “Tainted Love”
  29. “Where Did Our Love Go”
  30. “Sex Dwarf”
  31. “Say Hello, Wave Goodbye”

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

No Wave Techno-Punks Data Animal Debut Nightmarish Video for “Future Primitive”

The decay and breakdown of modern life and the approaching apocalyptic fallout of human behaviour…

12 hours ago

Gifts From Crows Debuts Video for Hauntingly Beautiful Classical Piece “The Empty Mirror”

Richard Laurence is a composer of neoclassical and ambient piano music with a colourful background…

12 hours ago

Enigmatic Post-Punk Outfit 4 Beat Grace Debut Video for “Violence Dance”

Need an outlet to overcome frustration?  Switzerland's 4 Beat Grace have just the remedy: their…

12 hours ago

EBM Duo Spike Hellis Packs a Punch With Cutting Edge Track “Slices”

Like flossing with razor wire Smile for the world The wait for new Spike Hellis…

13 hours ago

XTR Human Paints the Town Black With Old-school EBM Track “Farben Dieser Stadt”

German post-punk outfit XTR HUMAN has proven to be a formidable act over the years.…

14 hours ago

Experimental Duo Collapsing Scenery Debut Video for “You Already Know” From Acid Casual EP

Forever challenging and subverting perceptions. bicoastal masterminds Collapsing Scenery embrace the joyous, carnivalesque aspects of outsider…

1 day ago