“Suicide made some of the coolest, most uncompromising music ever inflicted on our species.” – Henry Rollins

Synth-punk legends Suicide (Alan Vega and Martin Rev) formed in the early 1970s, re-emerging in 1976 as New York’s burgeoning punk scene was on the verge of explosion. Although their debut album, released in 1977, garnered little credit in the beginning, their influence over others is incalculable as it is profound: New Order, Depeche Mode, Soft Cell, Fad Gadget, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Primal Scream, Nick Cave. Their staccato loops and spoken word performances embed themselves in the brain with a frenzied ecstasy. Even today, their sound transcends fads, fashions, and the time-space continuum. They pioneered punk and electronica, melded it with poetry, and sparked ingenuity.

Suicide continued releasing and performing for the next four decades, culminating in their final performance at Punk Mass in 2015, and Vega’s passing in July 2016.

Mute/BMG are celebrating Suicide’s distinguished career with their first official collection, Surrender, a career-spanning collection that includes tracks from their debut album Suicide (1977), through to their final studio album release, American Supreme (2002).

The tracklisting, collated by Martin Rev, Liz Lamere (Alan Vega’s collaborator and wife), Henry Rollins and Jared Artaud, includes two brand new, unheard tracks: “Girl (Unreleased Version)” and “Frankie Teardrop (First Version)”, alongside classic tracks such as “Dream Baby Dream”, “Cheree”, “Rocket USA”, “Surrender”, and “Why Be Blue?”

The tracks were fully remastered by Denis Blackham at Skye Mastering, who previously remastered the recent acclaimed Art of the Album reissue of Suicide’s debut album. The artwork’s concept and design- presented on the vinyl as an embossed, mirror-boarded gatefold sleeve – is by Michael Handis, with art direction by Jared Artaud. With sleevenotes by longtime fan and friend of the band, Henry Rollins, the 16-track album^ features previously unheard material, and will be available on blood-red double vinyl with an embossed, mirror-boarded gatefold sleeve; CD with embossed outer sleeve and digitally.

“This gathering of songs is not a ‘best of’ nor is it a definitive all-you-need-to-know compilation. It is an introduction that will hopefully compel you to explore the albums,” says Rollins.

Listen to the previously-unreleased version of “Frankie Teardrop”, with alternative lyrics, and watch the accompanying fourteen-minute short film directed by Douglas Hart (My Bloody Valentine, Primal Scream, The Jesus & Mary Chain) here…warning, it “may cause nightmares.” The video, a mind-blowing psychedelic explosion of lights and news zippers, is certain to yank you into another dimension.

Surrender is our March 25th, Pre-order the compilation here.

Follow Suicide:

A1. Dominic Christ (2022 – Remaster)
A2. Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne ​(2022 – Remaster)
A3. Harlem (2022 – Remaster)
A4. Rocket USA (2022 – Remaster)
B1. Cheree (2022 – Remaster)
B2. Dream Baby Dream (2022 – Remaster)
B3. Touch Me (2022 – Remaster)
B4. Ghost Rider (2022 – Remaster)
B5. Mr. Ray (2022 – Remaster)​​
C1. Surrender (2022 – Remaster)
C2. Why Be Blue? (2022 – Remaster)
C3. Wrong Decisions (2022 – Remaster)
C4. Dachau, Disney, Disco (2022 – Remaster)​​
D1. Radiation (2022 – Remaster)
D2. Girl (Unreleased Version) (2022 – Remaster)^
D3. Frankie Teardrop (First Version) (2022 – Remaster)*

1. Dominic Christ (2022 – Remaster)
2. Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne (2022 – Remaster)
3. Harlem (2022 – Remaster)
4. Rocket USA (2022 – Remaster)
5. Cheree (2022 – Remaster)
6. Dream Baby Dream (2022 – Remaster)
7. Touch Me (2022 – Remaster)
8. Ghost Rider (2022 – Remaster)
9. Mr. Ray (2022 – Remaster)​​
10. Surrender (2022 – Remaster)
11. Why Be Blue? (2022 – Remaster)
12. Wrong Decisions (2022 – Remaster)
13. Dachau, Disney, Disco (2022 – Remaster)​​
14. Radiation (2022 – Remaster)
15. Frankie Teardrop (First Version) (2022 – Remaster)*

^Previously unreleased, available on the vinyl and digital release
*Previously unreleased

Press photograph: Adrian Boot

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: