New Order to Reissue “Substance” on Vinyl, Cassette, and 4-CD Expanded Edition

New Order has announced the reissue of one of the most iconic compilations of the 80s and of all time: Substance 1987. Originally released by Factory Records, the collection features the work of multiple producers, including Martin Hannett, Arthur Baker, John Robie, Shep Pettibone, and Stephen Hague. The album included all of the band’s singles up to that point, in their 12″ versions, and many of their B-sides (on the CD and cassette versions). It also featured newly recorded versions of the singles “Temptation” and “Confusion.” “Blue Monday,” the best-selling 12″ single of all time, is also included, along with other classic singles like “The Perfect Kiss,” “Bizarre Love Triangle,” and the band’s debut single, “Ceremony.”

Subtance is the band’s best-selling record to date, with over one million copies sold, going platinum in the US with a Top 5 hit on “True Faith” which was accompanied by the seminal video directed by French choreographer Philippe Decouflé.

With the arrival of autumn, fans of music and collectors alike can look forward to a plethora of options for New Order’s reissue of Substance. This includes a double LP, dual cassette, and a lavish 4CD edition. The latter boasts an array of B-sides, alternate takes, as well as a live disc that captures the exhilarating atmosphere of the band’s 1987 tour. Of particular note is a previously unreleased recording from Irvine Meadows in Southern California on September 12th of 1987, where New Order played Substance in its entirety.

New Order made the announcement on social media:

Those who prefer colored vinyl can keep an eye out for a special retail-exclusive pressing of Substance, featuring striking shades of blue and red, which will be available from November 10th. Additionally, the 12-inch singles for “True Faith,” its remix, and the iconic “Blue Monday 88” will be available once again.

Listen to the “Confusion Dub ’87” remix below:

The discerning can now purchase the album in various formats from the label’s webstore including a 4 LP vinyl edition, a 4 CD expanded version, a 2 LP monochromatic vinyl edition, and a dual cassette version.

Pre-Order Here



CD 1

3. Temptation 87
4. Blue Monday
5. Confusion 87
6. Thieves Like Us
7. The Perfect Kiss
8. Sub-Culture
9. Shellshock
10. State Of The Nation
11. Bizarre Love Triangle
12. True Faith

CD 2
1. In A Lonely Place
2. Procession
3. Cries And Whispers
4. Hurt
5. The Beach
6. Confused Instrumental
7. Lonesome Tonight
8. Murder
9. Thieves Like Us Instrumental
10. Kiss Of Death
11. Shame Of The Nation
12. 1963

CD 3
1. Ceremony (Original)
2. Mesh
3. Temptation (12”)
4. Confusion (Original 12”)
5. Dub Vulture
6. Shellcock
7. Bizarre Dub Triangle
8. True Dub
9. Confusion (Dub 87)
10. True Faith (Remix)

CD 4
Live from Irvine Meadows Amphitheatre, California 1987
1. Ceremony
2. Everything’s Gone Green
3. Temptation 87
4. Blue Monday
5. Confusion 87
6. Thieves Like Us
7. The Perfect Kiss
8. Sub-culture
9. Shellshock
10. State Of The Nation
11. Bizarre Love Triangle
12. True Faith


Cassette 1
A1 Ceremony
A2 Everything’s Gone Green
A3 Temptation 87
A4 Blue Monday
A5 Confusion 87
A6 Thieves Like Us
A7 Murder

B1 The Perfect Kiss
B2 Sub-culture
B3 Shellshock
B4 State Of The Nation
B5 Bizarre Love Triangle
B6 True Faith

Cassette 2
C1 In A Lonely Place
C2 Procession
C3 Mesh
C4 Cries And Whispers
C5 Hurt
C6 The Beach
C7 Confusion Instrumental
C8 Lonesome Tonight

D1 Thieves Like Us Instrumental
D2 The Kiss Of Death
D3 Dub Vulture
D4 Shellcock
D5 Shame Of The Nation
D6 Bizarre Dub Triangle
D7 1963


Side 1
1. Ceremony
2. Everything’s Gone Green
3. Temptation 87

Side 2
4. Blue Monday
5. Confusion 87
6. Thieves Like Us

Side 3
1. The Perfect Kiss
2. Sub-culture
3. Shellshock

Side 4
4. State Of The Nation
5. Bizarre Love Triangle
6. True Faith

New Order are also set to kick off their 2023 European and UK arena tour on September 21.

Purchase any remaining tickets here.

You can also catch New Order stateside at Darker Waves Festival on November 18th.


  • 21– Royal Arena, Copenhagen
  • 23 – Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam
  • 26 – Zénith, Paris
  • 29 – The O2, London


  • 1 – 3Arena, Dublin
  • 5 – OVO Hydro, Glasgow
  • 7 – First Direct Arena, Leeds

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

Greek Darkwave Outfit Reflection Black Debut New Single “A Silver Dagger to Our Throats”

Greek darkwave outfit Reflection Black, led by Elis Alex of Ravencult and Nigredo fame, has…

1 day ago

Quebec Darkwave Trio Sarajevo & Moi Debut Video for “Pills

Quebec City-based darkwave trio Sarajevo & Moi has just dropped their latest EP, "Psyché," through…

1 day ago

Post-Punk and Dream Pop Spiral into a Nostalgic Reverie in Dreamwheel’s “Redeemer” EP

In our ongoing journey through the vast melodic topography of blissed-out shoegaze and post-punk, we've…

1 day ago

Estonian Darkwave Songstress Bedless Bones Debuts Video for “Solar Animus” — Plus Interview

In Carl Jung's "Mysterium Coniunctionis," the "solar animus" is a key concept within his analytical…

1 day ago

Late Slip Deliver a Country-Punk Love Letter to “New York City”

Beggin’ like a fool Crawlin’ back for more Baby, don’t be cruel Open up your…

1 day ago

New York’s Bootblacks Return With New Single “Wilderness”

I remember every dawn, every breath Every word, every step I can remember everything I’m…

2 days ago