Album Streaming

Listen to the Icy Cold Wave of Bram Droulers’ “Problème De Normalité”

In the quaint streets of Belgium, Bram Droulers, a fervent film enthusiast (and filmmaker), cultivated an appreciation for the brooding tones of darkwave and post-punk. His early inclinations leaned towards the stylings of 80s Berlin-era artists such as David Bowie, Siouxsie Sioux, and Joy Division. This fervour was only intensified by encounters with the enigmatic rhythms of 2010s revival bands like Lebanon Hanover, Molly Nilsson, and Selofan.

A half-decade stint in London’s goth milieu refined his musical palette, transitioning seamlessly from This Mortal Coil to the ethereal Cocteau Twins. This evolution has informed the inspirations behind his impending gothic darkwave release, “Problème De Normalité,” with nods to the likes of Nico, Xmal Deutschland, and Malaria!

Skirting the edges of raw, unadulterated punk, and interspersed with sparse industrial nuances and elements reminiscent of his Balkan heritage, Droulers’ music aims to craft a cinematic experience for the impassioned souls who revel in dance. “Problème De Normalité” epitomizes the essence of classical minimalist synth. Its compositions are understated, poised, and imbued with a frigid elegance reminiscent of early 4AD and Grauzone. The album, sung almost entirely in French, exudes a haunting ethereality, enveloping listeners in an atmospheric embrace. Its spooky, sparse arrangements and dreamy melodies conveys profound introspection, evoking sentiments of melancholy, isolation, and transcendental yearning.

The album commences with the evocative Des Bas Et Des Hauts (Lows and Highs), a chilling, resonant lamentation adorned with ethereal bell tones. Its poignant chorus lingers, reminiscent of a fading recollection. He’s Mean He’s Coming infuses a more danceable energy, blending rhythmic drum sequences, a haunting vocal with ghostly melodies, signaling an impending, inevitable approach. ILY perpetuates the eerie ambiance with its stripped-down synth, piercing guitar and floating vocals, evoking echoes of Lebanon Hanover’s distinctive sound.

With Few Last Words, listeners are immediately greeted by a heartfelt a cappella that echoes with emotion, interrupted brilliantly by lasers. Soon after, a compelling bassline introduces a contemplative Bauhaus-inspired poetic interlude. This style resonates again in Our Soirees Themes, where Bram’s subdued voice melds with profound synth pads and the resonance of metal. Lost In The Woods commences with a vivacious piano, followed by choral flourishes that segue into a captivating vocal piece, hinting at the allure of a mystical forest.

Petra revisits the time-honoured gothic tradition with looming synthesizers and foreboding guitar layers. Vegetation commences with subdued synth beats, soon giving way to strings reminiscent of Middle Eastern melodies, culminating in a piece evocative of Lebanon Hanover’s distinctive coldwave style. Folie resonates with an ethereal, static-laden quality, conjuring the image of an EVP recording capturing otherworldly voices within the cavernous halls of a haunted mansion. As the album draws to a close, listeners are treated to an organ-infused 80s style dance track, reminiscent of the early days of Depeche Mode, a zestful composition aptly titled Television.

Listen to the album below:

 Follow Bram Droulers:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Bands

To Reign or to Serve — Los Angeles Artist Joyfriend Debuts Diabolical Industrial EBM Banger “Fall From Grace”

Your wings are clipped now…. and tortured lovers make good pets In Wim Wenders' brilliant film Wings of Desire, the…

2 days ago
  • Album Streaming

Portland Shoegazers Kallai Release Gloomy, Reverb-Drenched Self-Titled Debut EP

Level blame on fad or syndrome She can't face her darkest fears You'll find joy and a new home They…

2 days ago
  • Album Streaming

Listen to Boston Dystopian Dance Duo Ex-Hyena’s Latest Album, “A Kiss of the Mind”

While the city dreams tonight There's an energy tonight While the city dreams tonight we're a part of everything Through…

2 days ago
  • Interviews

Emerald Leaves Shimmering in the Light of Dawn — An Interview with Alcest

It was five years ago that Alcest released their sixth studio album, Spiritual Instinct. The world then was a different…

2 days ago
  • Album Streaming

NYC’s Peeking Through The Noise Release New EP “What Will Not Decay? — Plus Share Video for “Lightsake”

Oh body falling heavenly, land with me tonight In dust and frost eternally, glisten in the night Your time on…

2 days ago
  • Bands

Death Disco Darlings Paper Foxes Debut Tenebrous New Single “The Gallows”

Bright lights and conversations. My mind, and this sensation. The hangman's gallows, a stark symbol in folklore, delves into the…

2 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button