Gary Numan | Telekon

On September 5th, 1980 Gary Numan released his second solo album Telekon on Beggars Banquet. Upon its release, the record debuted at the top of the UK Albums Charts making it his third consecutive No. 1 album.

The album was a departure slightly from the previous year’s Pleasure Principle, featuring heavy use of guitars and strings, along with more complex synthesizer textures, resulting from Numan’s use of additional machines such as the Sequential Circuits Prophet-5, ARP Pro Soloist and Roland Jupiter-4.

Despite a negative critical reception Nine Inch Nail’s Trent Reznor has claimed to have listened to the LP every day during the recording of his debut LP Pretty Hate Machine.

Telekon featured three singles, one of which “I Die: You Die” is now the name of a long-running Industrial music blog, whose podcast, “We have a Technical”, is also named after a song by Numan featured on Replicas.

The other two singles were “We Are Glass”, and “This Wreckage”

“This Wreckage”, however, was the only single originally featured on the UK release of Telekon, as “I Die: You Die”, and “We Are Glass” were non-album singles added to the cassette and international releases.

The album track “Remind Me To Smile” was released as a radio promotional 7 Inch single as well during April of 1980, with the album track “I Dream Of Wires” as the b-side.

“I Dream of Wires” would later inspire the name of the definitive documentary on analog and modular synth released in 2014.

From late 1980 to early 1981, Numan toured the UK, Europe, and North America in support of Telekon with guest performing Nash the Slash, known for his use of violin, synthesizers, and wearing bandages on his face; Numan’s stage costume during this tour, was an iconic black leather boilersuit with interlocking red belts, has become enduring image associated with Numan’s history and persona.

Order Telekon here

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

Australian Post-Punk Expats Death Bells Explore the Dark Side of Los Angeles in “Intruder”

"There's purpose in this, Eventual bliss, Trust me" Los Angeles Noir inspired "Intruder"—unveiled today—is the…

4 hours ago

Darkwave Duo Twin Tribes are Haunted by Ghosts in Their Video for “Fantasmas”

Before embarking on their European tour, and their massive sold-out show at Das Bunker, Darkwave…

4 hours ago

California Post-Punk Outfit Creux Lies Debut Video for “PS Goodnight”

Sacramento post-punk outfit Creux Lies, have unveiled their lyric video for "PS Goodnight", the latest…

3 days ago

Celebrate 10 Years of Chilean Alt Rock Act Amöniacö’s “Tu fuego” with the Lyric Video for the Title Track

Chilean band Amöniacö's album Tu fuego is ten years old this week. A voyage through…

3 days ago

Australian Post-Punk Act Enclave Critique Performative Activism in “Pale Guilt”

"No we don't bleed like them at all while our pursuit of knowing falls they…

3 days ago

Philadelphia Dark Pop Artist Ryder Houston Debuts Mournful Video for “6 Degrees”

"I’m craving, I’m craving, hedonistically raving I’m tired of sinning and lying, misbehaving I can’t…

3 days ago