On February 4th, 1983, Echo and The Bunnymen released their third studio album, Porcupine, one of their best charting albums that reached number 2 in the UK.

Brian Griffin shot the iconic album cover photo at the Gullfoss waterfall near Reykjavík, and Martyn Atkins designed the sleeve.

Porcupine included the singles “The Back of Love” and “The Cutter”. The band’s manager Bill Drummond brought Indian violinist Shankar into the mix to add strings to tracks on the album led to the “The Cutter”, which was released in January 1983 and became the band’s first Top 10 hit.

Watch the video for “The Cutter” below:

Castle Hendring released a VHS video in 1983 called Porcupine – An Atlas Adventure, which contained the six music videos – “In Bluer Skies,” “The Cutter,” “My White Devil,” “Porcupine,” “Heads Will Roll” and “The Back of Love.”

The filming was completed in December 1982. During this session, the band performing the songs from the album in their rehearsal room at The Ministry.

Watch the rest below:


  1. The Cutter
  2. The Back of Love
  3. “My White Devil”
  4. “Clay”
  5. “Porcupine”
Side two
  1. “Heads Will Roll”
  2. “Ripeness”
  3. “Higher Hell”
  4. “Gods Will Be Gods”
  5. “In Bluer Skies”

Please support Post-Punk.com! You can do so via: