Death of Lovers have announced their followup to 2014’s debut EP Buried Under A World Of Roses.

Death of Lovers have premiered today their video for “The Absolute”—the whirly dance of post-punk that is the first single off their upcoming LP, The Acrobat, which will be released this November 24th via DAIS Records.

The full length was finally put together amidst the rigorous touring schedule of Nothing, the other band of frontman Domenic Palermo, drummer Kyle Kimball, and bassist Nick Bassett.

Death Of Lovers

The video, directed by Amanda Siegel, captures a solitary technicolor discotech accented by the vocal harmonies of Domenic “Nicky” Palermo and drummer Kyle Kimball—singing lyrics about avarice and selfishness captured:

“A senseless world of worth, deceived by needing, and the crow who perches on your tongue – reminding you it won’t be too long.”

On the album’s musical direction Palermo gives a colorful description:

“Since the release of our first EP in 2014 there have been many thoughts and directions whisking in and out our heads of what indeed the debut LP of Death Of Lovers would sound like. But since touring and writing has been non stop it’s been virtually impossible to sit down and write. Until this past October when saw a small breach of light and instead of collecting ourselves mentally and psychically from the music overdosing, we jumped into another black hole of uncertainty and to be perfectly honest it’s been my favorite recording process to date.
It was nice to have a certain bit of freedom from consistently writing both music and lyrical content in a certain manner. I felt I was able to explore a brighter side of all the chaos in this solar system and rather than amass myself under a blanket of hopelessness, kind of let it tickle me, at times anyway. It’s nice when you can occasionally find yourself in that place where you see how amazing it all is even though you’re completely aware of how utterly sad it is at the same time and feel Ok about it. Maybe that’s positivity, I really hope not. I think we all understood that was the direction where this was going.”

The Acrobat will be released on November 24 via Dais Records. Pre-orders are available here.

The Acrobat Track Listing: 

  1.  Orphans Of The Smog
  2.  Here Lies
  3.   Ursula
  4.   The Lowly People
  5.   Perfect History
  6. Quai d’Orsay
  7.   Divine Song
  8.   The Absolute

Please support! You can do so via: