Watch an Interview and Live Performance with Dark Post-Punk Act Maggot Heart on Milk Me Episode III

“Locked inside a prison of flesh the spirit will not soar, only in unity with the body can divine alchemy be achieved.”

The MILK ME episode series is an investigative performance series based around the Berlin music scene’s long-term artists. Using the modern-day singularity of the digital platform, MILK ME incorporates mediums of sound, portrait photography, and interview-based journalism to shine a light upon the full scope of an artist’s creative world – which, in many ways, is lost due to the increasing stream-based output of artists. It aims to uncover the aesthetic, mindset, and reason for the artists’ output, as well as the how and why of the records and music made.

Maggot Heart has forged a strong path in the European rock scene with their extensive touring with Earthless and Voivod, their crossover hard rock sound, and their DIY punk ethos. The band is the brainchild of Swedish guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter Linnéa Olsson (Grave Pleasures, The Oath). She is joined by bassist Olivia Airey and drummer Uno Bruniusson (In Solitude, Grave Pleasures).

Photo by Clara Sokol

Maggot Heart’s soul revolves around the city as a throbbing organism via sex, death, and the pursuit of freedom. Often collaborating with multi-instrumentalist Gottfrid Ahman (In Solitude) and award-winning producer Martin “Konie” Ehrencrona (Viagra Bots, Obliteration), the band’s lyrics are viewed through the multi-destructional lens of Olsson’s songwriting, jarring style of guitar playing, and intense live presence. The band is often compared to Sonic Youth, The Stooges, Killing Joke and Voivod, with its earworm melodies and raw aggression. Fiercely independent in the music industry, she co-founded her own label Rapid Eye Records in 2020.

Watch the interview below:

As per MILK ME’s format, the feature on Maggot Heart is divided into three parts: a live performance video, an in-depth interview, and portrait photography by Clara Sokol.

The live set features five songs, taken from Mercy Machine (2020) and the Maggot Heart/Okkultokrati Split EP (2021). Both out on Rapid Eye Records.

Maggot Heart are set to perform at Urban Spree in Berlin, on Friday, December 3rd, along with Phallucipher, and YFORY.

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

No Wave Techno-Punks Data Animal Debut Nightmarish Video for “Future Primitive”

The decay and breakdown of modern life and the approaching apocalyptic fallout of human behaviour…

11 hours ago

Gifts From Crows Debuts Video for Hauntingly Beautiful Classical Piece “The Empty Mirror”

Richard Laurence is a composer of neoclassical and ambient piano music with a colourful background…

11 hours ago

Enigmatic Post-Punk Outfit 4 Beat Grace Debut Video for “Violence Dance”

Need an outlet to overcome frustration?  Switzerland's 4 Beat Grace have just the remedy: their…

12 hours ago

EBM Duo Spike Hellis Packs a Punch With Cutting Edge Track “Slices”

Like flossing with razor wire Smile for the world The wait for new Spike Hellis…

12 hours ago

XTR Human Paints the Town Black With Old-school EBM Track “Farben Dieser Stadt”

German post-punk outfit XTR HUMAN has proven to be a formidable act over the years.…

13 hours ago

Experimental Duo Collapsing Scenery Debut Video for “You Already Know” From Acid Casual EP

Forever challenging and subverting perceptions. bicoastal masterminds Collapsing Scenery embrace the joyous, carnivalesque aspects of outsider…

1 day ago