Video Premiere

Trace Amount Collaborates with Qual to Create the Annihilating “Death Match”

The collaborative project between New York City-based producer, Trace Amount, and post-punk-cum-EBM mainstay, William Maybelline (under the name Qual and who is one-half of Lebanon Hanover), wreaks havoc on the new EP, Alien Dust. Ignited by slabs of sound that pummel and drill into the brain’s cortex, the track “Death Match” is grimy and raw, an annihilation of industrial soundscapes. Trace Amount and Qual’s EP sits somewhere between Nine Inch Nails’ production and the severity of Hypnoskull’s music, all while representing the new strain of industrial—much like Statiqbloom‘s endeavors.

Watch the video for “Death Match” below:

Alien Dust is comprised of bursts of energy—compositions that are both ravenous and frenetic as “Death Match” clocks in at just over two minutes and the entire EP is just over ten minutes long. Trace Amount put together the mechanical rhythms and vocals in NYC while Qual worked remotely on the synthesized elements in Athens which made for a collaboration none of us knew we needed… until now.

Alien Dust will be out via the NYC-based electronic collective Faktor Music on October 29th.

Trace Amount will hit the road this December for a string of dates alongside Black Magnet (20 Buck Spin).

  • 12/15/21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus
  • 12/16/21 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie
  • 12/17/21 – Boston, MA @ Middle East Upstairs
  • 12/18/21 – Cleveland, OH @ The Foundry
  • 12/19/21 – Chicago, IL @ Reggies
  • 12/20/21 – Indianapolis, IN @ Black Circle

Follow Trace Amount on Bandcamp and IG.

Follow Qual on Bandcamp and IG.

Andi Harriman

Andi Harriman is the author of "Some Wear Leather, Some Wear Lace: The Worldwide Compendium of Postpunk and Goth in the 1980s." She resides in Brooklyn, New York where she writes, DJs and lectures on all things dark and gloomy.

Recent Posts

The Damned Debut Video for “The Invisible Man” From New Album “Darkadelic”

Channeling low-budget B-movies, punk anarchy, and a Crazy World of Arthur Brown show, punk legends…

6 hours ago

Greek Darkwave Project Reflection Black Debuts Video for “No Stars In The Sky”

From the glorious metropolis of Athens Greece, darkwave project Reflection Black announces a searing darkwave…

1 day ago

Alive In Cappadocia—An Interview with Zola Jesus

"I have been through the gamut of what this industry can offer, and I’ve learned…

2 days ago

Synthpunk Project Buck Gooter Debuts Video for “Burning Glass”

I'm stuck in the blue light void with all the trendy kids from high school…

2 days ago

Darkwave Duo Male Tears Slay in Their Video for “I Expire”

Manufactured memories. Interlink an empty vessel. Circuit crashed, I have no needs. A replicant, I…

2 days ago

Depeche Mode Tease New Single “Ghosts Again” for Release February 9th

Depeche Mode suffered a tremendous loss last year when Andrew Fletcher suddenly passed of an…

2 days ago