The Mission | God’s Own Medicine

On November 18th, 1986 The Mission released their debut album God’s Own Medicine. The band had formed following the dissolution of the original lineup of The Sisters of Mercy, with guitarist Wayne Hussey taking with him bassist Craig Adams to form the new band with Hussey on vocals.

The new band, initially called The Sisterhood, also enlisted Red Lorry Yellow Lorry’s Mick Brown, in lieu of a drum machine like Dr. Avalance, and keyboardist Simon Hinkler, rounding out a four-piece.

Following their live debut as The Sisterhood, on January 20th, 1986, there was some controversy as TSOM frontman Andrew Eldritch released a single as The Sisterhood while the band on tour with The Cult, necessitating a name change.

The Mission, now under their new name, would then released their debut EP I (Serpents Kiss), quickly following it up with II (Like a Hurricane/Garden of Delight), during the summer, before releasing their full-length debut album during the autumn.

Three singles were released from the record:

“Stay With Me”



1. “Wasteland”
2. “Bridges Burning”
3. “Garden of Delight (Hereafter)”
4. “Stay With Me”
5. “Blood Brother”
6. “Let Sleeping Dogs Die”
7. “Sacrilege”
8. “Dance on Glass”
9. “And the Dance Goes On”
10. “Severina”
11. “Love Me to Death”
12. “Island in a Stream”

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

A Sky-kissed Shoegaze Daydream in Resplandor’s “Blue”

A new dream-laced single has emerged from the Netherlands via Peru: Resplandor announces the release…

6 hours ago

Synth-driven New Wave Act TV Queens Debut “Too Cruel The Thunder”

Conceived in Dayton Ohio, TV Queens is a three-piece that draws heavy inspiration from a…

7 hours ago

Italian Dark Post-Punk Act God in a Black Suit Releases “Nails” EP

In February 2020, five friends begin to work on the drafts of a dozen songs.…

9 hours ago

The Enchantment of Second Skin: An Interview with Brian DaMert

Ever since Second Skin crashed into the scene earlier this year with "Colder," we've been…

13 hours ago

Delta 5 Founder and Singer Julz Sale Has Passed Away

With much sadness, we announce the loss of Julz Sale, founder and singer of Leeds-based…

16 hours ago

Minimal Synth Act Black Marble Debuts a Love Letter to Artists with “Preoccupation”

Black Marble’s Chris Stewart has unveiled the third single from his forthcoming new album Fast…

1 day ago