The Man Behind the Mask — Kontravoid Takes Manhattan in the Video “For What It is”

Kontravoid takes Manhattan

Mask up! Kontravoid strikes again! Now, the mysterious Canadian Angeleno entity has unleashed a brand new video for his latest work. “For What It Is.” This lead single, a chillingly atmospheric dark electronic piece from his upcoming album “Detachment,” is visually brought to life by the skilled director and musician Chris Campion, known for his work with Multiple Man and Normal Bias, resulting in a striking visual experience that is Kontavoid’s best yet.

Set in New York City, our masked protagonist plays at being a tourist – and a game of chess; he also takes his chances at the TKTS stand, lurks outside a peepshow, and wanders aimlessly around the neon-soaked nightlife of the seventh circle of hell (aka Times Square). It’s a lonely, solitary journey through the Big Apple – but don’t pity him. In this city of millions, he finds an unexpected kinship with a feline friend.

Watch the video below:

For over a decade, Kontravoid has stood as an enigmatic and influential figure. The alter ego of Darkwave and EBM maestro Cameron Findlay has been carving a unique niche in the genre since the release of his eponymous debut in 2012, displaying a distinct sound that transcends simple labels. Melding elements of EBM, Darkwave, and electro, with gothic undertones, Kontravoid’s music resonates like a haunting, indelible dream.

His previous full-length album, 2019’s Too Deep, throbs with an energy as if sourced directly from the obscured, misty dancefloors of a rave held in the catacombs. Following this, the 2021 Faceless EP further explores these haunted territories, with ghostly melodies that drift through a strobe-lit haze, echoing the call of the wandering spirits of the night, real or imagined.

Anticipation is building for Kontravoid’s upcoming full-length album, Detachment, scheduled for release on March 1st via Artoffact Records. The launch of this eagerly awaited LP will be celebrated at the Lodge Room in Los Angeles that same day. The event promises an exciting lineup, featuring performances by Buzz Kull and God’s Mom, alongside G•S•E•D and Sayaka Nono as DJs.

Pre-Order the album here

Follow Kontravoid:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

Explore the Warm New Wave Sound of Texas Trio Don’t Get Lemon’s New Album “Have Some Shame”

Twilight youth cultivates cries And you never got to say goodbye Screams shake off of…

53 mins ago

Whippets Unleash Video for Abrasive Deathrock Track “Splinter”

"You're the worst of your kind." Whippets, hailing from the No Coast (aka Madison, Wisconsin),…

5 hours ago

Paris-based Songstress Julia Gaeta Explores Elusive Desire in her Spellbinding New Single “Hangin On A Dream”

In the chaotic twists of love's darker chapters, where initial bliss gives way to tangled…

6 hours ago

Oakland Post-Punk Project Nuevo Cuerpo Debuts Video for “Alma Malcriada”

From the quiet of pandemic-induced solitude, Andres Ruiz—known for his work with False Figure and…

1 day ago

Listen to Cold Whispers of Arizona Post-Punk Trio Rare Kreature’s Haunting New Album “Sleeping Secrets”

Awoke to something yet unmet the sacred echoes of Tibet The rock formations call to…

3 days ago

Listen to the Lush Chamber Pop of Stephen Bluhm’s New LP “Out of the Nowhere Into the Here”

As I enter the arms of a woman, Truly fortunate. As I enter the arms…

3 days ago