The Line Between Reality and Illusion — Los Angeles New Wave Outfit Sacred Skin Debuts New Single “Paranoid”

In the neon-lit labyrinth of a metropolis paved with the dreams of fallen angels, paranoia thrums like an electric pulse through the veins of the city. It’s a world where algorithmic data flows in invisible currents, where every shadow hides a watchful eye nestled in the palm of a hand, and every whisper is etched in a clandestine communique, signifying a potential threat. The line between reality and illusion blurs like swirling vertigo, leaving its inhabitants teetering on the edge of a digital abyss. Trust is a rare commodity in this fragmented reality, a fleeting ghost haunting the back alleys of cyberspace. Here, the only certainty is that everyone is watching, and no one is safe.

With this in mind, Los Angeles’ Brian DaMert and Brian Tarney, a pair of musicians who helm the new wave outfit Sacred Skin, unleash their latest single, “Paranoid.” No strangers to fearless explorations of 80s-style anthemic pop music, they now make their next bold strike with the release of their first single of 2024 through Artoffact Records. This release heralds their second full-length album, which looms on the horizon like a sunrise on a California beach, promising a journey through a retro-infused dreamscape fueled by the contraband stowed in the glovebox of a dayglo-colored vintage Porsche.

“Paranoid” arrives loaded, with lyrical depth and unreserved instrumental pairings, creating a veritable maelstrom of sound. It is propulsive and disorienting, drawing listeners into a windswept surrender. The throbbing bass, guitar hooks, icy keys, and reverb-drenched vocals create a debris-laden soundscape that leaves you uncertain of where the song will take you next, except onward into the heart of the storm.

In a description that befits a trailer for an 80s sci-fi action movie, narrated by Don LaFontaine, the band has released the following statement to promote the single:

In a world where the lines of fact and fiction have become increasingly blurred, it’s important to keep an unhealthy level of paranoia.”

Listen to “Paranoid” below below:

Last year marked a significant chapter for Sacred Skin as they inked a deal with Artoffact Records, dropped their haunting single “Bitter Heart,” and reissued their pivotal album “The Decline Of Pleasure” on CD. Now, as we step into a new year, they grace us with their latest track, setting the tone for the months to come.

This steady stream of singles and vibrant live performances culminated in the release of their first full-length album, “The Decline of Pleasure,” in May 2022. The record is a lush tapestry of dreamy new-wave arrangements married with DaMert’s potent vocals, dripping with themes of lust and longing, setting it apart in the modern music landscape. Their meticulous use of iconic early digital outboard gear and samplers, like the Sequential Prophet VS synthesizer and the EMU Emulator II, gives the album a captivating, timeless studio essence.

Overflowing with themes of love and hope, “The Decline of Pleasure” offers an escape back to a more innocent, carefree time, brilliantly juxtaposing our recent era of isolation with a vibrant, audacious new world. But if “Paranoid” is any indication, Sacred Skin’s next album is heading towards where angels fear to tread and straight into the heart of darkness.

Follow Sacred Skin:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Bands

Italian Shoegazers Monoscopes Debut Psychedelic Video for “You’re Gonna Be Mine”

Think about the frustrations Of resisting temptation Full of anticipation But I know you’re gonna be mine Ah, the certainty…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

Electronic Music Artist Lourene Breaks Down Beauty Standards in Her Video for “Not Hot”

Beauty standards are societal constructs, often swayed by transient cultural whims and commercial interests, that can lead us away from…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

When Did it All Turn Grey? — Danish Post-Punk Outfit Violence Debut “Colour Decay” Featuring T A K E R

"When did it all turn grey?" Violence is a post-punk band hailing from Copenhagen, Denmark. With their roots firmly planted…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

San Francisco’s Octavian Winters Concoct New Release with Iconic Producer Mark Pistel”

In 2022, San Francisco saw the intriguing rise of Octavian Winters, a post-punk ensemble with a flair for the theatrically…

7 hours ago
  • Bands

UK Post-Punk Legends The March Violets Return with Their Video for “Hammer the Last Nail”

All I ask is the stars!  It’s been quite the year for Leeds legends, The March Violets. They’ve recently signed…

8 hours ago
  • Bands

Nicole Marxen Dances Under the Red Moonlight of Her Wounds in the Giallo-Tinged Video for “Thorns”

like a rabid animal my body betrays itself these dormant wounds exhumed Nicole Marxen, a singer-songwriter and visual artist from…

1 day ago
Sticky Footer Banner