Classic Bands

The Cure Welcome Perry Bamonte Back into the Band and Debut “Alone” and “Endsong”

“This is the end of every song that we sing…”

The Cure began the inaugural gig of their 2022 European tour in Riga, Latvia, on Thursday, October 6th, treating fans to two new compositions during their twenty-five-song setlist. Not only that but fans were also surprised to see The Cure as a six-piece at the beginning of the concert, as guitarist and keyboardist Perry Bamonte took the stage, returning to the band after nearly two decades.

Bamonte had previously joined The Cure in 1990, replacing initially replacing Roger O’Donnell. He would then go on to play both guitar and keyboards on the band’s 1992 album Wish, even receiving writing credits on the album’s heartbreaking track ‘Trust.”

Following the departure of Porl Thompson in 1993,  Bamonte would take on lead guitar duties, appearing on the albums Wild Mood Swings, Bloodflowers, and the 2004 self-titled album, The Cure, before being let go from the band in 2005.

Bamonte shared the stage with The Cure for the first time since his departure during the band’s 2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inauguration ceremony, and the October 6th, 2022 gig marks his first time performing as a member of the band in 18 years.

The two new songs, “Alone” and “Endsong,” performed at the gig in Lativa,  are presumably from the band’s forthcoming fourteenth studio album, Songs Of A Lost World, and have a Disintegration and Wish era style and mood to them.

The first song, the seven-minute long “Alone,” opened the set, feeling like an instrumental track off of Lost Wishes for the first half of its duration, with frontman Robert Smith walking on stage without his guitar, eventually singing the lyrics “This is the end of every song that we sing,” with a projection of the earth looming behind him.

“Endsong” marked the end of the main part of the set before both encores, serving as a 10-minute dirge where Robert Smith made good on his promise of relentless “doom and gloom.” Traces of “All Cats Are Grey” can be heard in the percussion, which works in perfect cinematic tandem with guitars, synths, and bass, that echo the deepest cuts from The Cure circa 1989 to 1992. It takes over six minutes for the vocals to kick, chanting out the lyrics, “I’m outside in the dark, staring at the blood-red moon,” while a projection of a lunar eclipse bathes the stage in scarlet hues.

The Cure continues their 44-date European tour in Helsinki, Finland, on October 8th.

See the full setlist from the gig in Latvia below:

Alone (World Debut)
Pictures of You
A Night Like This
Trust (First time since 2016)
Fascination Street
In Between Days
Play for Today
A Forest
Shake Dog Shake
From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea
Endsong (World Debut)


Encore 2:
Close to Me
The Walk
Friday I’m in Love
Just Like Heaven
Boys Don’t Cry

The Cure 2022 European Tourdates:


06 – RIGA Arena
08 – HELSINKI Hartwall Arena
10 – STOCKHOLM Avicii Arena
12 – OSLO Spektrum
13 – GOTHENBURG Scandinavium
14 – COPENHAGEN Royal Arena
16 – HAMBURG Barclaycard Arena
17 – LEIPZIG Quarterback Immobilien Arena
18 – BERLIN Mercedes Benz Arena
20 – KRAKOW Tauron Arena
21 – LODZ Atlas Arena
23 – VIENNA Marx Halle
24 – PRAGUE O2 Arena
26 – BUDAPEST Arena
27 – ZAGREB Arena
29 – MUNICH Olympiahalle
31 – BOLOGNA Unipol Arena


01 – FIRENZE Mandela Forum
03 – PADOVA Kioene Arena
04 – MILAN Forum
06 – GENEVA Arena
07 – LYON Halle Tony Garnier
08 – MONTPELLIER Sud De France Arena
10 – BARCELONA Palau Sant Jordi
11 – MADRID WiZink Centre
13 – TOULOUSE Zenith
14 – BORDEAUX Arkea Arena
15 – NANTES Zenith
17 – FRANKFURT Festhalle
18 – STRASBOURG Zenith
19 – BASEL St Jakobshalle
21 – STUTTGART Hans-Martin-Schleyer-Halle
22 – KOLN Lanxess Arena
23 – ANTWERP Sportpaleis
25 – AMSTERDAM Ziggo Dome
27 – LIEVIN Stade
28 – PARIS Accor Arena


01 – DUBLIN 3Arena
02 – BELFAST SSE Arena
04 – GLASGOW OVO Hydro
06 – LEEDS First Direct Arena
07 – BIRMINGHAM Utilita Arena
08 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
11 – WEMBLEY SSE Arena

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

2 days ago
  • Bands

German Darkwavers SIIE and Dark Electronic Music Artist Idoru Team Up in Their Video for “Violent”

SIIE, a Swiss/German darkwave techno duo out of Hamburg, boldly breaks traditional musical molds. Their sound is a seamless blend…

2 days ago
  • Bands

London Outfit Nothingheads Hit their Heads on the Nail with Old-School Punk Single “Blindspot”

Since their inception in 2020, Nothingheads have been distilling dissonant grooves and etching their mark in the gritty underbelly of…

2 days ago
  • Album Streaming

Portland Psychedelic Rock Ensemble Federale Celebrates 20 Years of the Band with Their New Album “Reverb & Seduction”

Portland outfit Federale has released their latest album Reverb & Seduction, out today via Jealous Butcher Records. Led by Collin…

2 days ago
  • Bands

A Ship in a Bottle Sets Sail — Darkwave Project No Curse Debuts Animated Video for “Heaven’s Seal”

No Curse clawed its way from the ashes of New Jersey’s post-punk outfit Primitive Lips. This solo venture brews a…

2 days ago
  • Bands

Mother Ghost Pays Homage to Mexican Luchador Films in Their Video for “Radio Fantasma”

I sing the body electric I got my ticket to help I need somebody to pick me up ‘Cause there’s…

2 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button