Take a Gloomy ride with Russian Post-Punk Trio Ploho in their video for “Горький опыт”

Siberian post-punk band Ploho are back in a gloomy bus ride with their video for “Горький опыт”, a song, when translated into English, comes out as titled: “Bitter Experience”.

The melancholic song is carried along by the somber and beautiful lead guitar of band leader Victor Uzhakov, whose deadpan vocal style is perfect for the Russian lyrics, set to the perfect buoyantly sorrowful atmosphere courtesy of Andrei Smorgonsky on Bass, and Igor Starshinov’s weeping blue keytar.

The video is brilliant, continuing the stylized vignettes found in their previous video from their last album’s lead single “Закладка” aka The Stash.

This time, we are exposed to scenes of children tattooing, organized crime ransacking a market, a bratty child, and a bittersweet romance, all within the confines of a bus traveling night and day across brutalist landscapes.

Watch the video for “Горький опыт” below:

Ploho has emerged as a household name in their native Russia in recent years, slowly building up a dedicated fanbase in Europe and abroad. The band was formed by singer and guitarist Victor Uzhakov in 2013, who enlisted Andrei Smorgonsky on bass and Igor Starshinov on synths. Together, the threesome are one of the most prominent purveyors of the newly dubbed “new wave of Russian music”, dark Soviet era-inspired post-punk sometimes referred to as “Russian Doom”, taking a broad range of influences from the 80s from acts ranging from bands such as Bioconstructor and Kino.

Photo by Artur Mamleev

To date, Ploho has recorded four albums, and several EPs, as well as more than 10 singles, which they supported by touring more than 40 cities in Europe several times. They appeared at prominent festivals including Боль in Russia, Kalabalik in Sweden, and Platforma in Lithuania. Their latest album Пыль (Pyl) was released in 2019 and a vinyl edition quickly sold out. The record caught the attention of country-mates and recent Sacred Bones signees Molchat Doma, who offered to co-record a new song with Ploho.

In early 2020, Ploho signed a multi-album deal with Toronto-based Artoffact Records, who will release the band’s new album later this year.

It was not only Artoffact and Molchat Doma who noticed the band’s wonderful sound: Apple Music recently added them to the Breaking Russian Rock playlist, and Cult British fashion brand Fred Perry loves Ploho and recently offered to interview them.

Follow Ploho:

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

Documentary on 4AD Post-Punk Legends Rema Rema to be Released

“One of the great post-punk bands was over before it had begun.” - Ivo Watts-Russell,…

18 hours ago

Listen to the Gloom Pop of “Nashville, I Nearly Killed Me” by Ghost Therapy (aka Adam Sweaters)

A shame our greatest archetypal feats Are laced with such disgrace and infamy Adam Sweaters…

19 hours ago

Toronto Art-Punk Project Some Exercise Debuts EBM-Infused New Single “Protocol”

Some Exercise, a Toronto art-punk project led by multi-instrumentalist Sam Pichonsky (Parapet), announces the release…

1 day ago

Belgian Coldwave Outfit The Ultimate Dreamers Debut Video for “Polarized”

The magic is back. Coldwave outfit The Ultimate Dreamers are but reverie no more; they…

4 days ago

Avant-garde Dark Rock Group Luna Honey Debut Catastrophic video for “The World is Ending”

Melding murky bass grooves, unhinged distortion, and haunting vocals, Luna Honey builds a variety of…

6 days ago

Danish Post-Punk Act The Foreign Resort Debut Video for “Overturn”

The Foreign Resort returns at last: they have a new single via Artoffact Records called…

7 days ago