Categories: Anniversary Bands Classic Albums Classic Interview

Siouxsie and the Banshees | Nocturne

One of the best Post-Punk live albums of all time is most certainly Siouxsie & The Banshees’ Nocturne. Recorded September 30th and October 1st, and released on November 25th, 1983, Nocturne was a double live album and concert video from two amazing sets at Royal Albert Hall in London.

The concerts were two homecoming gigs after the band had performed abroad in Japan, Australia, and Israel—and followed the release of the “Dear Prudence” single which marked the enlistment of The Cure’s Robert Smith as an official member of the band. Smith had previously been a temporary member replacing John McKay for the remainder of the Join Hands tour in ’79, so this was the Cure singer/guitarist’s second time filling in for an outgoing Banshees guitarist—in this case, the hard to fill shoes of the brilliant John McGeoch.

Along with the televised performance on Rockpalast, Nocturne showcases Siouxsie and The Banshees at their very best.



  1. Israel” (6:45)
  2. Dear Prudence”  (3:55)
  3. “Paradise Place” (4:28)
  4. Melt!” (3:48)
  5. “Cascade” (4:35)
  6. “Pulled to Bits” (4:03)
  7. “Night Shift” (6:27)
  8. “Sin in My Heart” (3:31)
  9. Slowdive” (4:18)
  10. “Painted Bird” (3:56)
  11. Happy House” (4:39)
  12. “Switch” (6:35)
  13. Spellbound” (4:31)
  14. Helter Skelter”  (3:42)
  15. “Eve White/Eve Black”  (2:58)
  16. “Voodoo Dolly” (8:42)


  1. “Israel”
  2. “Cascade”
  3. “Melt!”
  4. “Pulled to Bits”
  5. “Night Shift”
  6. “Sin in My Heart”
  7. “Painted Bird”
  8. “Switch”
  9. “Eve White/Eve Black”
  10. “Voodoo Dolly”
  11. “Spellbound”
  12. “Helter Skelter”


Here are a few interview clips from New Zealand and Australia from February of 83,

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Bands

Italian Darkwave Artist Numa Echos Debuts Video for Desolate Single “Infected Circles”

The concept of "infected circles," similar to crop circles, symbolizes a poisoned and flattened existence from which one must escape…

10 hours ago
  • Bands

Divine Your Deception — Texas Dreampop Duo Raudiver Debut Chilling Synth Single “True Faith”

sparrows feed on your hardware seed the scarcity of a mindlike cage Living in Texas, Lauren and Charlie Eddy of…

1 day ago
  • Bands

Toronto Post-Punk Outfit Shallow Waves Share the Video for Their Biting New Single “No Devotion”

Today, there's a relentless pressure to conform politically, religiously, and culturally, stifling individuality, creativity, and critical thought. Politically, we are…

1 day ago
  • Bands

French Project The Memory Of Snow Debuts Moody Monochromic Video for “Bodies”

Suffering and coming Consuming and sleeping Embodiment Representation This is who we are But not quite Human beings are a…

1 day ago
  • Bands

R.E.M. Reunite For the First Time in 15 Years — Watch Surprise Performance of “Losing My Religion”

Like a comet, often observed as a once-in-a-lifetime event, R.E.M. returned to the stage last night (June 13) at the…

2 days ago
  • Bands

Italian Shoegazers Monoscopes Debut Psychedelic Video for “You’re Gonna Be Mine”

Think about the frustrations Of resisting temptation Full of anticipation But I know you’re gonna be mine Ah, the certainty…

2 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button