Song Premiere

Secret Shame Debut Whirling Old-School Gothic Rock in Their New Song “Dark”

It may be the middle of summer, but this autumn, something wicked this way comes with Secret Shame’s new album Dark Synthetics, a seven-song tempest of guitar-driven dark post-punk in the vein of band’s Skeletal Family, Rubella Ballet, and Look Back in Anger.

The first track to be shared from Dark Synthetics is the titular “Dark”—a fast-paced whirling dirge of old school gothic rock, that lyrically delves into the perils of fraught with psychological torment, through lead singer Lena’s vocal wail.

Lena explains:

“This song is about mental health and watching your own mental health crumble as a result of everyone else’s crumbling around you. It’s about being helpless to your own mind, which is a common theme, if not the most common, within the album. This song was a challenge and a success for everyone involved.”

Listen to “Dark” below:

Last January, the band entered The Ward studios in Richmond, VA with engineer Ricky Olson (Shadow Age), resulting in this absolutely formidable debut Dark Synthetics. Secret Shame are self-releasing the record on September 6th—the day before they perform their biggest show to date at the renowned Hopscotch Music Festival in North Carolina, along with Moon Duo, and Chvrches.

A rare thing these days, the band is a five-piece lineup with Ryynikki, Nathan, Matthew, and Billie,  backing Lena’s exorcising vocal performance.

“There’s not a single word I didn’t write from the pit of my stomach,” Lena says. “The entire record—even though the song dynamics change—has one solid emotion, which is the struggle of inner turmoil and being trapped inside yourself. It’s the feeling of holding a scream in the back of your throat.”

“Some people avoid writing music that puts them in a vulnerable place, but that’s the place I’m trying to get into,” Lena says. “That’s where you’re your most raw and hopefully people will be able to experience it through you. There’s nothing else like it.”

Pre-Order Dark Synthetics via Bandcamp here, and pre-save the album for Streaming here

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

Listen to the Atmospheric Darkwave, Post-Punk, and Gothic Rock of Nino Sable’s “Sedate Seduce”

LUCIFER speaks to us in all colors of the universe LUCIFER enlightens us - with…

6 hours ago

Melbourne Post-Punk Outfit Town Ace Debut Video for “Goons”

Melbourne post-punk outfit Town Ace unleashes a chaotic dive into an altered state with the…

8 hours ago

Jason Alacrity Teams Up with Darkwave Artist Vore Aurora in the Surreal Video for “Null & Void”

Alizeh Winter and Jonah Philips - known respectively as Vore Aurora and Jason Alacrity, combine…

9 hours ago

Echo and the Bunnymen Announce “40 Years of Magical Songs” North American Tour Dates

Visa woes, unfortunately, led Echo & The Bunnymen to pull out of the Cruel World…

1 day ago

Cocteau Twins’ Elizabeth Fraser Unveils Lyric Video for Sun’s Signature’s “Underwater”

The opening of a window onto rapture Find the world shining in me The senses…

1 day ago

Black Asteroid Debuts New Single “Methane Rain” Featuring Front Line Assembly

Black Asteroid has announced a collaborative effort with industrial legends Front Line Assembly: the raw,…

1 day ago