Categories: Bands Video Premiere

Recall Madame X Tell a Vampiric Love Story in their Video for “Cigarettes and Coffee”

Italy’s retrowave musical and visual project, Recall Madame X, has unleashed a requiem of sapphic, vampire love: the story of two women locked up in an art-house cinema for eternity. There is only one request to let the time pass: coffee and cigarettes. Referencing the imagery of Jean Rollin and the psychedelic horror cinema of the Seventies, the single and accompanying video for Cigarettes and Coffee is an eerie, intriguing work of art.

The harmonies in the track are marked by an out-of-tune and melancholy piano, in a constant crescendo developed in three parts (The Meeting/The Pain/The Resignation), with a suspended rhythm that becomes more and more concrete towards an obsessive and martial ending. The whole performance has a cinematic and oneiric feel: its sound is analogue, created with Groovebox, Moog, and modified electronics. The whispered voice was performed by the illustrator Francesca Azzoni.

Recall Madame X involves the collaboration between Alessandro De Benedetti (musician, designer, illustrator) and Andrea Zuccotti (author, multi-instrumentalist, sound engineer). Both rescued in their restless adolescence by the spooky music and lyrics of the Banshees and Joy Division, and they began composing decadent post-punk songs with the support of a TR707 and an out-of-tune acoustic guitar.

Alessandro De Benedetti has served as the Creative Director of luxury fashion brands such as Exté, Mila Schön, Romeo Gigli and his own brand, since the early 2000s. During his career in art and fashion, he collaborated with Alejandro Jodorowsky, Katherine Jebb, and his idol, Siouxsie Sioux. Andrea Zuccotti, multi-instrumentalist and producer, founded the Italian electropop project Zerozen. He has collaborated on projects with Marco Vernetti, Sigma Tibet, Kristen Grove, Madaski, Santa Sangre, and Delta V. He is also a public lawyer committed to the defense of civil rights, in particular on issues such as LGBT+ rights, same-sex parenting, and international law. He considers both civil commitment and artistic work two different sides of his innate propensity to observe and describe the human being.

The first album from Recall Madame X, SupersexDeluxe (published by Aries Music), came out in 2007, with an electro-wave appeal and inspired by the subculture of 1970s soft-porn Italian noir photo novels, and by the movie’s soundtrack What Ever Happened to Baby Jane?. They followed up with the single Rumore in 2008, and in 2013 released the concept album Dive Cattive (Naughty Divas). The third single, Vergini di Luce (Virgins of Light), inspired by the 1975 film Picnic at Hanging Rock, saw the special appearance of Max Zanotti (Deasonica), becoming the soundtrack of a short film by videomaker Katerina Jebb, and presented in Paris during Fashion Week 2016.

The video for Cigarettes and Coffee, filmed at Gerolamo Theater, Milan, was created by Alexander Coppola. Watch the video for Cigarettes and Coffee below:

The single and video anticipate the release of the new album Unconscious ID, scheduled for October 31, 2021.

Follow Recall Madame X:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

2 days ago
  • Bands

German Darkwavers SIIE and Dark Electronic Music Artist Idoru Team Up in Their Video for “Violent”

SIIE, a Swiss/German darkwave techno duo out of Hamburg, boldly breaks traditional musical molds. Their sound is a seamless blend…

2 days ago
  • Bands

London Outfit Nothingheads Hit their Heads on the Nail with Old-School Punk Single “Blindspot”

Since their inception in 2020, Nothingheads have been distilling dissonant grooves and etching their mark in the gritty underbelly of…

2 days ago
  • Album Streaming

Portland Psychedelic Rock Ensemble Federale Celebrates 20 Years of the Band with Their New Album “Reverb & Seduction”

Portland outfit Federale has released their latest album Reverb & Seduction, out today via Jealous Butcher Records. Led by Collin…

2 days ago
  • Bands

A Ship in a Bottle Sets Sail — Darkwave Project No Curse Debuts Animated Video for “Heaven’s Seal”

No Curse clawed its way from the ashes of New Jersey’s post-punk outfit Primitive Lips. This solo venture brews a…

2 days ago
  • Bands

Mother Ghost Pays Homage to Mexican Luchador Films in Their Video for “Radio Fantasma”

I sing the body electric I got my ticket to help I need somebody to pick me up ‘Cause there’s…

2 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button