Post-Punk Podcast Episode 3—Clan of Xymox’s Ronny Moorings Talks about the 4AD Years and More!

On the third episode of the Post-Punk Podcast music industry veteran and contributing editor Thomas Thyssen joins Editor in Chief Alex Baker for an interview with Clan of Xymox founder and frontman Ronny Moorings.

During the interview, we look back on 40 years of the band, beginning with their rare Demo EP Subsequent Pleasures, and discuss how with the help of Dead Can Dance’s Brendan Perry,  Clan of Xymox were signed to 4AD.

Throughout the interview, we also delve further into Clan of Xymox’s 4AD years. During this time, they released their classic 1985 self-titled debut album, featuring the fantastic single A Day, and Stranger, both remixed by John Fryer into dancefloor hits, as well as the and its follow-up Medusa.

In light of the recent release of Clan of Xymox’s Peel Sessions on vinyl, we also discuss the two recording sessions for John Peel’s radio show, which as legends goes, is how the Genre ‘Darkwave” was coined.

Order Here

During our interview with Ronny, we also touch upon how Clan of Xymox’s last two albums takes the band full circle, by both embracing the past and the future, especially with the remix collaborations with current Darkwave band’s such She Past Away, Ash Code, and Twin Tribes.

We can also expect a new album from Clan of Xymox out this year. In the meantime, find Days of Black, and Spider on the Wall, here.

If you enjoy the show, please support the Post-Punk Podcast through our Patreon Page, or directly via our Contact Form here. And don’t forget to leave a review on the podcast platform of your choice.

Thank you Jason Corbett from Actors for creating our intro music, Korine for creating our outro, and our Editors Frank Deserto and Andi Harriman. And of course, thank you to Thomas Thyssen for co-hosting this episode.

Listen to the Post-Punk Podcast season one episode 3 below:

Find this Episode on Several other Platforms below:


From the Editor at Post-Punk.com

Recent Posts

Experimental Duo Collapsing Scenery Debut Video for “You Already Know” From Acid Casual EP

Forever challenging and subverting perceptions. bicoastal masterminds Collapsing Scenery embrace the joyous, carnivalesque aspects of outsider…

5 hours ago

Danny Elfman Summons a Mind-Melting Phantasmagoria with his Video for “In Time”

Danny Elfman's latest offering is a truly remarkable feat of time-bending, good old-fashioned theatre, and…

1 day ago

Self-titled Debut of Revelatory 80s DIY Synth Outliers Batang Frisco Newly Reissued

Picture a Bay Area before the first tech boom, in a San Francisco business district;…

1 day ago

Seattle Shoegaze Act Darksoft Debuts Video for Looking “Backward” From New Album “Cryo”

"Like a crystal ball Becomes opaque with age For every nail that drives Another hand…

1 day ago

Los Angeles Ambient Synth Musician and Graphic Designer Vijunns Debuts New Single “Apex”

Jeremy Raskin, a music producer and graphic designer based in Los Angeles, is the mastermind…

1 day ago

LA Acid Deathrock Punks VR SEX Dial-in the Sleaze With Their Video for “Victim or Vixen”

Be warned, you’ll fast forward If you dance for a taste of glass... Following the…

2 days ago