Song Premiere

O/X’s “Falling Into” is an EBM-Infused Dystopian Dance Anthem

The aggression and brutality found in O/X’s track, “Falling Into,” is a reflection of the world’s current hell-scape examined through a dystopian lens. As the solo project of San Diego-based Christopher Oxendine, O/X focuses on unapologetic dance music that captures the roughness of late 1980s EBM such as Vomito Negro and Leæther Strip or the resurgence of EBM artists such as Physical Wash and PC World with their hefty, prominent basslines. Oxendine’s vocals growl overtop the strict machines as he spews a venomous distaste for reality. It is music to dance to at the end of the world. Listen below:

“Falling Into” is the A side of the 7″ single release via San Diego’s DREAM label and will include digital remixes by scene mainstays Kontravoid and Physical Wash (who took on mixing and co-producing duties for this upcoming release). As a follow up to O/X’s debut EP, New Life, in 2018—a release full of fuzzy coldwave sincerity—Oxendine’s newest offering maintains his electronic dance roots but adds an abrasive element to the result.

Out on October 1st. Pre-order the 7″ vinyl and digital here.

Follow O/X on Facebook and Instagram.

Andi Harriman

Andi Harriman is the author of Some Wear Leather, Some Wear Lace: The Worldwide Compendium of Postpunk and Goth in the 1980s. She resides in Brooklyn, New York where she writes, DJs and lectures on all things dark and gloomy.

Recent Posts

Boy Harsher Premieres the Suspense-Filled “Tower” From “The Runner OST” and Announces Tour Dates

And are you honest And are you free And do you trust Trust in me…

7 hours ago

Gang of Four Announce North American Tour Dates Performing Material from 1977-1983

Gang of Four are making plans to tour North America in March 2022, performing songs…

1 day ago

The Horrors Return with Video for “Against The Blade”—The Title Track From New EP

Remember, remember: The Horrors unfurl "Against The Blade", their new single offering and title track…

1 day ago

Australian Post-Punk Expats Death Bells Explore the Dark Side of Los Angeles in “Intruder”

"There's purpose in this, Eventual bliss, Trust me" Los Angeles Noir inspired "Intruder"—unveiled today—is the…

1 day ago

Darkwave Duo Twin Tribes are Haunted by Ghosts in Their Video for “Fantasmas”

Before embarking on their European tour, and their massive sold-out show at Das Bunker, Darkwave…

1 day ago

California Post-Punk Outfit Creux Lies Debut Video for “PS Goodnight”

Sacramento post-punk outfit Creux Lies, have unveiled their lyric video for "PS Goodnight", the latest…

4 days ago