Album Streaming

NYC’s Peeking Through The Noise Release New EP “What Will Not Decay? — Plus Share Video for “Lightsake”

Oh body falling heavenly, land with me tonight

In dust and frost eternally, glisten in the night

Your time on earth so minimal, your wave crashed into mine

I thank you for the memory, I carry you inside

Peeking Through The Noise, the collaborative effort of New York City musicians Crystal Casey and Joseph Beaty, unveils a new four-song EP titled What Will Not Decay?, now available on Bandcamp.

What Will Not Decay? began as four distinct ambient synth performances, each a pure, unaltered moment of mindful meditation. Free from the constraints of rhythm, they created layers over these auditory backdrops. The result is a stream-of-consciousness experience that transcends the physical form, exploring the interplay of creation and destruction. What remains when dualities dissolve?

Their subtle, ASMR-like sound design is best experienced with quality headphones or a well-placed speaker system, which aims to free the listener from worldly attachments, inviting an expansion of inward and outward awareness. Fans of ambient music, noise, Chelsea Wolfe, Dead Can Dance, This Mortal Coil, and Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross will find resonance in their minimalism and angelic sound.

Body reflects a poignant farewell to a departed soul, highlighting the ephemeral yet profound impact they had. The imagery of a heavenly body descending, shimmering in dust and frost, evokes a timeless beauty and enduring memory. The speaker conveys deep gratitude for the shared moments and pledges to carry the essence of these memories within.

Lightsake offers a transformative experience of renewal and purity, much like a cleansing rain. Though destruction is expected, it never arrives. The glittering rain and radiant light symbolize the purification and justification of existence, bringing clarity and purpose. The video, created with producer Joseph Butera III of Georgia, began with initial footage recorded in Joseph and Crystal’s home studios. This footage was sent to Butera for AI-driven effects treatment and then further manipulated by Joseph Beaty to evoke a post-apocalyptic, EVP atmosphere.

“Imagine yourself in this post apocalyptical bunker where your only source of entertainment was a small vintage TV running on an oozing battery,” quips Beaty. “You see this vision of light and beauty emerging from the dark on the screen and it gives you this feeling of dread and also hope that better days are to come.”

Bound illustrates a scene of controlled captivity and intricate connection. A wing held in stillness signifies a willing numbness, while the slow drag of teeth reflects a deliberate interaction. Despite efforts to break free, both captor and captive remain intertwined, weaving a complex web. The cold surroundings and repeated unraveling emphasize the inescapable, cyclical nature of their bond.

The Mind delves into the essence of stripping down to the core, uncovering that beneath all layers, only the mind persists. As superficial layers fade away, patterns emerge and time crystallizes what is truly enduring. The focus lies on the elements that do not decay, highlighting the enduring nature of the mind and its constructs. In the video, slow wind sweeps through the serene flatland grass, gently pulling at the glitching figures in the foreground. Here, we witness the interplay of struggle and beauty, love and life—capturing the essence of the human condition.

Listen to the album below and order here.

Peeking Through The Noise began in 2018 when Casey and Beaty connected on Instagram. Their collaboration took shape as they recorded and exchanged files, leading to the creation of solo tracks featuring each other. This evolving synergy naturally progressed into a full-fledged project.

Within a year, Casey and Beaty became Peeking Through The Noise, debuting with their EP, Still Wandering. This was followed by the 2019 EP, A Tone, the 2020 full-length album Skeleton Keys, and several singles. They took a four-year hiatus before releasing What Will Not Decay?.

Follow Peeking Through The Noise:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

7 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

13 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

18 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

21 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button