Classic Albums

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds | Tender Prey

On September 19th, 1988 Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds released their fifth studio album Tender Prey. The album was produced by Flood, and was recorded during several sessions over the course of four months at Hansa Studios in West Berlin.

The album opens with one of the Nick Cave’s most well known and beloved songs, “The Mercy Seat,” which has been performed at nearly all the band’s live performances since 1988.

During a recent performance in Berlin, Cave remarked to the crowd that the song was written in a flat in Kreuzberg under the influences of copious amounts of amphetamine. Cave’s drug use was noted to be at its worst at the time he was writing the songs from Tender Prey, with heroin also on the menu.

During the same time as the album’s release, Cave was writing his novel And The Ass Saw The Angel, and continued the theme of incarceration set in the Mercy Seat by starring in the prison film Ghosts of The Civil Dead.

“The Mercy Seat” was later covered by one of Cave’s influences, Johnny Cash, on his album American III: Solitary Man (2000), which is fitting, given the song’s death row theme blends seamlessly into the lore of Cash’s song catalog that was often performed live at prisons across the  US, such as San Quentin, and Folsom.

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

Chrystabell Beams Us Into A New Dimension With The Dazzling “Midnight Star”

"Are we angels shining brightly? Are we the forgotten left behind?" Fasten your seatbelts, Chrystabell is…

2 hours ago

Swedish Post-Punk Outfit Principe Valiente Return with Their Beautiful and Oceanic Video for “Porcelain”

Swedish post-punk outfit Principe Valiente return with "Porcelain," an epic ballad heralding the release of…

21 hours ago

Melbourne Post-Punk Outfit Bitumen Summons the Spirit of Dreamy Early 90s Alt Rock on “Cleareye Shining”

Australian post-punk quartet Bitumen are due to release their savage sophomore LP, Cleareye Shining on…

1 day ago

Qual Dances Beyond Skin Deep in his Sinister Synth-Wave Video for “Insides on the Outside”

The collaboration between Trace Amount, and Qual continues, this time with the 3D animated video…

2 days ago

Blistering Dream Pop Project Old Moon Offer Unreleased Track “Stranger”

It's that perfect time of year where I generally listen to shoegaze and dream pop…

2 days ago

Watch an Interview and Live Performance with Dark Post-Punk Act Maggot Heart on Milk Me Episode III

"Locked inside a prison of flesh the spirit will not soar, only in unity with…

2 days ago