Video Premiere

Munich-Based Dark Synth Trio Rue Oberkampf Debut Video for “Es Versucht”

Munich-Based Dark Synth Trio Rue Oberkampf has released “Es Versucht”, the first track off of the project’s upcoming debut LP‚ Christophe-Philippe, a name that is self-referential, as the street name Rue Oberkampf in Paris is named Christophe-Philippe Oberkampf, a French naturalized German industrialist who became famous for founding the royal manufacture of printed cottons—a silk screener if you will, who also invented printed wallpaper.

The band Rue Oberkampf’s Augsburg-based label Young and Cold Records has provided this description of the project:

“Founded at the end of 2016 by three DJs, Rue Oberkampf combines 80s ecstasy with the atmosphere of fog-shrouded, strobe-lit dance temples of the techno era. The combination of urban electronic music’s gritty drive with Julia’s French-German vocals reminds some critics of a more forceful version of Deux or Kirlian Camera: yet at the same time it creates something entirely original.”

The new album follows a series of singles and last year’s Waveclash EP. As for the track “Es Versucht”, with roughly translates “To Try”, it is a slow sexy rhythmic pulse of minimal synth beats expertly sequenced whose sinister swerves, pitch shifts, and crescendos sound both retro and contemporary, overlaid by stoic German language vocals.

Christina Stuhlberger, a Brussels based filmmaker created the video for the group.

Watch the video for “Es Versucht” below:

Christophe-Philippe album was mixed by German synth aficionado Daniel Hallhuber and Rue Oberkampf themselves.

Pre-Order Here

Live Dates:

  • 01.11. // Wiesbaden // GLOWING IN THE DARK
  • 02.-03.11. // Hamburg // DAMAGED GOODS FESTIVAL
  • 09.11. // Bielefeld // UNTER NULL Festival

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

4 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

12 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

16 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

20 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button