Classic Bands

Mona Mur’s 1988 Self-Titled LP with The Stranglers’ JJ Burnel and Dave Greenfield Receiving Vinyl Reissue

The incomparable Mona Mur has made her mark in the world as a vocalist, songwriter, film composer, music producer…and international German vice-champion of Taekwondo. She has worked with everyone from Einstürzende Neubauten to The Stranglers, Alexander Hacke, FM Einheit, Mark Chung, and organ virtuoso Nikko Weidemann. Her skills are responsible for the underground hits Snake, 120 Tage, and Eintagsfliegen. Her unmistakable voice has cemented her as industrial post-punk royalty on both sides of the Atlantic.

Mur recently unveiled a new studio album, Delinquent, featuring a collaborative track, Sex to Go, with Bettina Koester (Malaria) and Anja Huwe (Xmal Deustchland).

In her earlier life, Mur lived as a bon vivant in Hamburg, Paris, and Berlin, shaping her unique musical persona. Mur’s sound was violent and dark; her cult status gelled from provocative concerts shrouded in manic intensity and morbid slow beat. Her career began to take off after releasing her 12″ Jeszcze Polska, which grabbed the attention of NME.

In summer 1987 Mona Mur met with Stranglers members JJ Burnel and Dave Greenfield on their East Anglia compound to create her first full, self-titled album. The collaboration formed an elegant synth-pop pearl, loaded with arpeggios galore and tasty bass lines. The album was released in 1988 by RCA; filmmakers Monika Treut and Elfi Mikesch featured a live performance of Ritz in their movie Die Jungfrauenmaschine. The official video for Ritz was shot by Eduard Oleschak in various locations in Austria.

The 2021 re-reissue, remastered by EN ESCH (KMFDM, Pigface), has a new running order, a new version of Jealous, and a bonus track, Venus 2020, featured in the credits of the upcoming Monika Treut movie Genderation.

Mona Mur also features a special re-recording of Surabaya Johnny using tracks by FM Einheit, Alex Hacke, Nikko Weidemann, Thomas Stern, and Siewert Johannsen with additional drum tracks by The Bible’s Dave Larcombe.

It’s exciting to have Mur’s stunning magnum opus in one place, presented in a new way for the next generation to discover. This post-punk Zelig has more tricks up her sleeve, and we cannot wait to see what is in store.

Pre-Order Here

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

The Cure Announce 44 Date European Tour for 2022

If you were searching for definitive proof that you've quantum leaped into the best possible…

1 hour ago

Chrystabell Beams Us Into A New Dimension With The Dazzling “Midnight Star”

"Are we angels shining brightly? Are we the forgotten left behind?" Fasten your seatbelts, Chrystabell is…

2 days ago

Swedish Post-Punk Outfit Principe Valiente Return with Their Beautiful and Oceanic Video for “Porcelain”

Swedish post-punk outfit Principe Valiente return with "Porcelain," an epic ballad heralding the release of…

2 days ago

Melbourne Post-Punk Outfit Bitumen Summons the Spirit of Dreamy Early 90s Alt Rock on “Cleareye Shining”

Australian post-punk quartet Bitumen are due to release their savage sophomore LP, Cleareye Shining on…

3 days ago

Qual Dances Beyond Skin Deep in his Sinister Synth-Wave Video for “Insides on the Outside”

The collaboration between Trace Amount, and Qual continues, this time with the 3D animated video…

3 days ago

Blistering Dream Pop Project Old Moon Offer Unreleased Track “Stranger”

It's that perfect time of year where I generally listen to shoegaze and dream pop…

4 days ago