Video Premiere

Minimal Compact Announce LP “Creation is Perfect” and Share Video for New Version of “Statik Dancin”

Influential Israeli post-punk group Minimal Compact have announced the release of Creation is Perfect—an album of new versions of classic tracks by the band, plus a brand new track “Holy Roar”—their first in over 30 years.

Formed in Amsterdam in 1980 after relocating from Tel-Aviv, Minimal Compact were a unique voice in original post-punk explosion, featuring five very different and distinct personalities: Berry Sakharof (guitars/ keyboards/vocals); Malka Spigel (bass/keyboards/vocals); Samy Birnbach aka DJ Morpheus (vocals); Rami Fortis (guitar/vocals); and Max Franken (drums).

Together the band released several ground-breaking and influential albums, including Deadly Weapons (1984) – which spawned the club hit “Next One Is Real” – and their most commercial album, “Raging Souls” (1985).

Accompanying the announcement is a new version of live favourite “Statik Dancin”. Of the new version, Bassist/keyboardist and vocalist Malka Spigel comments:

“We still play “Statik Dancin’” like we always did: driving, minimal, a bit moronic but still catchy. This version has a combination of the energy of the live version plus a fresh sounding production”.

Watch the new video for “Statik Dancin” below:

Minimal Compact have reunited, collaborating with producer and friend Colin Newman of Wire to re-record the band’s signature songs using a mix of live recordings and studio-tooled performances.

Creation is Perfect is due for release on October 25 via the band’s own Minimal Compact label.

Creation is Perfect tracklist:

  1. Statik Dancin’
  2. Take Me Away
  3. Nada
  4. Raging Souls
  5. Not Knowing
  6. My Will
  7. The Well
  8. Holy Roar (new track)

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

2 days ago
  • Bands

German Darkwavers SIIE and Dark Electronic Music Artist Idoru Team Up in Their Video for “Violent”

SIIE, a Swiss/German darkwave techno duo out of Hamburg, boldly breaks traditional musical molds. Their sound is a seamless blend…

2 days ago
  • Bands

London Outfit Nothingheads Hit their Heads on the Nail with Old-School Punk Single “Blindspot”

Since their inception in 2020, Nothingheads have been distilling dissonant grooves and etching their mark in the gritty underbelly of…

2 days ago
  • Album Streaming

Portland Psychedelic Rock Ensemble Federale Celebrates 20 Years of the Band with Their New Album “Reverb & Seduction”

Portland outfit Federale has released their latest album Reverb & Seduction, out today via Jealous Butcher Records. Led by Collin…

2 days ago
  • Bands

A Ship in a Bottle Sets Sail — Darkwave Project No Curse Debuts Animated Video for “Heaven’s Seal”

No Curse clawed its way from the ashes of New Jersey’s post-punk outfit Primitive Lips. This solo venture brews a…

2 days ago
  • Bands

Mother Ghost Pays Homage to Mexican Luchador Films in Their Video for “Radio Fantasma”

I sing the body electric I got my ticket to help I need somebody to pick me up ‘Cause there’s…

2 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button