Categories: Uncategorized

Mickey Dagger’s Track “Past Life” is a Slow New Beat Burn

Mickey Dagger’s new track, “Past Life” featuring Athena, is the introduction to the new Samo Records compilation, Spiral. With “airy Tangerine Dream new beat styles”—as the Montreal-based italo and EBM producer who has released on Giallo Disco would describe it—is a slow burn with atmospheric loops and airy vocals. Spiral includes other tracks from artists Montessori & Korsssakov (Ombra International), Etane (Sulk Magic), Chase Smith & Karl (WT Records), BarumBarum (Sinchi), Barney In The Tunnel Feat Kim Little (Tunnel Signs + Kato – Ca$hminus), Birds (Hoga Nord) and label head Facets. The release, out December 4th, is quirky and danceable, retaining a rawness that is perfect for grimy, dark basements full of dancing bodies.

Listen to “Past Life” here:

Pick up Sphere on the Samo Bandcamp.

Andi Harriman

Andi Harriman is the author of "Some Wear Leather, Some Wear Lace: The Worldwide Compendium of Postpunk and Goth in the 1980s." She resides in Brooklyn, New York where she writes, DJs and lectures on all things dark and gloomy.

Recent Posts

NYC’s Dreamy Synth-Pop Duo Tempers Debut Haunting New Single “Nightwalking”

The feeling of isolation and abandonment during the first wave of lockdown served as the…

7 hours ago

Los Angeles Post-Punk Outfit Deceits Debut New Single “Failures”

Newly-minted Los Angeles-based post-punk band Deceits have announced their second single "Failures". The track was written during…

8 hours ago

Morrissey Asks Johnny Marr to Stop Talking About Him in Interviews

Morrissey, in response to a recent interview with Johnny Marr, featured as the cover story in…

12 hours ago

A Haunting Journey by Metro in Dark Electronic Act NightNight’s Video for “Leaves”

The New York City subway is forever a stage: a place of tragedy, a place…

1 day ago

Swedish Dark Synth Project Neonpocalypse Debuts Mesmerizing Video for “Broken Circles”

Then Comes Silence frontman Alex Svenson, under the guise of Neonpocalypse, has unveiled the video for Broken…

1 day ago

Australian Post-Punk Outfit Death Bells Debut New Single “Passerby”—Plus Tour Dates

Los Angeles post-punk outfit Death Bells have returned with a soaring, stunning new single, "Passerby".…

2 days ago