Los Angeles Post-Punk Duo Occults Debut Burning New Single “Sacred Heart”

Los Angeles-based duo OCCULTS have released another great track, this time the soaring single “Sacred Heart”, a burning alt-rock anthem evoking the full dynamic palette of the band’s influences, like their post-punk forbears The Smiths, Joy Division, The Cure, The Church, and more.

After 20 years of writing and performing together in the dance-pop band Nothing Still, Emilio Hernandez and drummer, Patrick Lawrence formed their Post-Punk/Shoegaze revival project Occults. Together the two musicians decided to use this new musical exploration to expand their horizons and fall in love again with the kind of records heard on college radio and found on the shelves of cult record stores when they were teenagers.

With this in mind, Occults indeed have conjured an authentic mixture of early 80’s Post-Punk era melodies and the wistful melancholia of early 90’s Shoegaze, resulting in songs that would belong in a playlist featuring tracks from Psychocandy and Disintegration. This is due to their elaborate rhythms and melodies found on each track, driven by Johnny Marr-esque guitar intricacies, and dream-hued bedside vocals by Hernandez.

Listen to “Sacred Heart” below:

Occults are currently releasing their Debut EP, “Sacred Heart”, as individual singles, with each new release dropping every month through the end of 2021. Previously through this campaign, the band had released the tracks “Ghost Town”, “Physical”, and “Little Joy”.

Listen to all these singles via the band’s Spotify page here.

Follow Occults:

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

NYC’s Dreamy Synth-Pop Duo Tempers Debut Haunting New Single “Nightwalking”

The feeling of isolation and abandonment during the first wave of lockdown served as the…

14 hours ago

Los Angeles Post-Punk Outfit Deceits Debut New Single “Failures”

Newly-minted Los Angeles-based post-punk band Deceits have announced their second single "Failures". The track was written during…

14 hours ago

Morrissey Asks Johnny Marr to Stop Talking About Him in Interviews

Morrissey, in response to a recent interview with Johnny Marr, featured as the cover story in…

19 hours ago

A Haunting Journey by Metro in Dark Electronic Act NightNight’s Video for “Leaves”

The New York City subway is forever a stage: a place of tragedy, a place…

2 days ago

Swedish Dark Synth Project Neonpocalypse Debuts Mesmerizing Video for “Broken Circles”

Then Comes Silence frontman Alex Svenson, under the guise of Neonpocalypse, has unveiled the video for Broken…

2 days ago

Australian Post-Punk Outfit Death Bells Debut New Single “Passerby”—Plus Tour Dates

Los Angeles post-punk outfit Death Bells have returned with a soaring, stunning new single, "Passerby".…

2 days ago