Listen to Philadelphia Darkwave Artist Grimothy’s “Goodbye” and More on New Album “Death Dream”

Philadelphia dark/synth-wave based artist GRIMOTHY announces a new album, entitled Death Dream. The first single, “Goodbye”, packs a raw, emotional wallop. As with many artists releasing new pandemic-era music, the theme revolves around existentialism and the overwhelming feeling of bleakness in the current climate: The isolation. The loss. The hope that shimmers so faintly on the horizon line.

Grimothy’s succinct bio claims “Sad boy, sad songs,” which incorporates the gamut of emotions evoked through Death Dream. In particular, Goodbye tweaks at the heartstrings in a highly unsettling way, using distortion and low hertz tones in its composition to place the listener in that foggy headspace on the precipice of the veil of death, emulating the sounds of EVP recordings and ghost hunter spirit boxes. It is a seance as much as it is a farewell.

With Death Dream, that bleak yet beautiful vision goes from theoretical to reality across seven songs. Over the course of 25 minutes, Grimothy (aka Timothy Fultano) delivers a kaleidoscope of synthetic sounds designed for the COVID era. The album is a study in low-frequency effects on the human nervous system, shaking the listener into an experience of subliminal dread. Grimothy shows a deft hand in the subtle art of controlling electronics and the human heart with this debut. Cold synths whirl around ghost-ridden streets; fractured, digitally effected vocals sit just below audible, and sub-bass rattles that thrust you back into reality.

Listen below:

Grimothy’s “Goodbye” featured on Death Dream is out now via Wet Cassettes.

Follow Grimothy: 

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

Indonesian Darkwave Act Camlann Debuts Dark Disco Video for “Midnight Euphoria”

Indonesia Dark Disco outfit Camlann returns with their funky new single "Midnight Euphoria". Originally a trio, founded…

1 day ago

No Wave Techno-Punks Data Animal Debut Nightmarish Video for “Future Primitive”

The decay and breakdown of modern life and the approaching apocalyptic fallout of human behaviour…

2 days ago

Gifts From Crows Debuts Video for Hauntingly Beautiful Classical Piece “The Empty Mirror”

Richard Laurence is a composer of neoclassical and ambient piano music with a colourful background…

2 days ago

Enigmatic Post-Punk Outfit 4 Beat Grace Debut Video for “Violence Dance”

Need an outlet to overcome frustration?  Switzerland's 4 Beat Grace have just the remedy: their…

2 days ago

EBM Duo Spike Hellis Packs a Punch With Cutting Edge Track “Slices”

Like flossing with razor wire Smile for the world The wait for new Spike Hellis…

2 days ago

XTR Human Paints the Town Black With Old-school EBM Track “Farben Dieser Stadt”

German post-punk outfit XTR HUMAN has proven to be a formidable act over the years.…

2 days ago