Video Premiere

Kælan Mikla Unveil their Thunderous Video for “Stormurinn”

The Icelandic trio, Kælan Mikla, have just released their third single to the upcoming album, Undir Köldum Norðumljósum, that’s out on October 15th via Artoffact Records.

“Stormurinn” is both melancholy and uplifting, a song replete with wistful flute solos and soft synth melodies overtop their post-punk basslines and sharp drum machine patterns. “Stormurinn means The Storm in Icelandic,” Kælan Mikla notes. “This song is about dancing around a bonfire on the beach on a stormy weather night charged with the power of wind and thunder.” Thunderous indeed—the track, alongside its video, is enveloped in powerful, mystical energy.

The music video for “Stormurinn” is a foggy depiction of the oceanside in monochrome greys. Waves crash as Kælan Mikla sway under the stormy night sky. As ghostly entities, they dance around the fire, spinning, and spinning, like a less-menacing iteration of Midsommar.

Watch the video below:

Stream the first three singles from Undir Köldum Norðumljósum and pre-order via Bandcamp below, and order the album here.

*Photo by Dean Wallflower

Andi Harriman

Andi Harriman is the author of Some Wear Leather, Some Wear Lace: The Worldwide Compendium of Postpunk and Goth in the 1980s. She resides in Brooklyn, New York where she writes, DJs and lectures on all things dark and gloomy.

Recent Posts

Chrystabell Beams Us Into A New Dimension With The Dazzling “Midnight Star”

"Are we angels shining brightly? Are we the forgotten left behind?" Fasten your seatbelts, Chrystabell is…

2 hours ago

Swedish Post-Punk Outfit Principe Valiente Return with Their Beautiful and Oceanic Video for “Porcelain”

Swedish post-punk outfit Principe Valiente return with "Porcelain," an epic ballad heralding the release of…

21 hours ago

Melbourne Post-Punk Outfit Bitumen Summons the Spirit of Dreamy Early 90s Alt Rock on “Cleareye Shining”

Australian post-punk quartet Bitumen are due to release their savage sophomore LP, Cleareye Shining on…

1 day ago

Qual Dances Beyond Skin Deep in his Sinister Synth-Wave Video for “Insides on the Outside”

The collaboration between Trace Amount, and Qual continues, this time with the 3D animated video…

2 days ago

Blistering Dream Pop Project Old Moon Offer Unreleased Track “Stranger”

It's that perfect time of year where I generally listen to shoegaze and dream pop…

2 days ago

Watch an Interview and Live Performance with Dark Post-Punk Act Maggot Heart on Milk Me Episode III

"Locked inside a prison of flesh the spirit will not soar, only in unity with…

2 days ago