Italian Dark Post-Punk Act God in a Black Suit Releases “Nails” EP Featuring “You Don’t Have Time”

In February 2020, five friends begin to work on the drafts of a dozen songs. Then, lockdown happened. During the chaos and isolation of the pandemic, the Italian quintet still managed to find inspiration and the necessary time and space to concentrate on creating a pile of new material comprising what would become Nails, the debut five-song EP of God In A Black Suit.

In May 2021 they finally entered the studio, releasing “You Don’t Have Time” as their first single in July. The single was recorded at Labsonic Studio, and mixed and mastered at Arbvel Studio, both in Matera.

The band cites the obvious post-punk, new wave, and darkwave sounds as their main influences, but they are also heavily inspired by krautrock, shoegaze, and indie rock…with their own twist. You can hear elements of Bauhaus, Pixies, Slowdive, and early Siouxsie in their raw guitar sound and rollicking drums, but each track has its own leitmotif of strange sonic effects and interesting vocal direction.

Each track also has its own personality and flavour, yet remains tied together with the spirit of the band.  The band is fronted by emotive vocalist Matteo Demma; Annalisa Laterza plays bass, Bruno Pantone plays guitar, Gianluca Natrella backs the outfit on drums; and tying it all together is Pietro De Ruggieri on synth and keys.

The track “You Don’t Have Time” is accompanied by an enigmatic, chaotic black and white video, directed by Kiana Tajammol, which richly illustrates the frenetic nature of the sinister track as well as the strife of life under lockdown, political unrest, and general malaise of the common collective.

Watch below:

An excellent first peek at what to expect from their forthcoming full length album.

Order the Nails EP here.

Follow God In A Black Suit:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

Boy Harsher Premieres the Suspense-Filled “Tower” From “The Runner OST” and Announces Tour Dates

And are you honest And are you free And do you trust Trust in me…

6 hours ago

Gang of Four Announce North American Tour Dates Performing Material from 1977-1983

Gang of Four are making plans to tour North America in March 2022, performing songs…

1 day ago

The Horrors Return with Video for “Against The Blade”—The Title Track From New EP

Remember, remember: The Horrors unfurl "Against The Blade", their new single offering and title track…

1 day ago

Australian Post-Punk Expats Death Bells Explore the Dark Side of Los Angeles in “Intruder”

"There's purpose in this, Eventual bliss, Trust me" Los Angeles Noir inspired "Intruder"—unveiled today—is the…

1 day ago

Darkwave Duo Twin Tribes are Haunted by Ghosts in Their Video for “Fantasmas”

Before embarking on their European tour, and their massive sold-out show at Das Bunker, Darkwave…

1 day ago

California Post-Punk Outfit Creux Lies Debut Video for “PS Goodnight”

Sacramento post-punk outfit Creux Lies, have unveiled their lyric video for "PS Goodnight", the latest…

4 days ago